We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great cake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wild Strawberry

The Wild Strawberry
52/54 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5JT, England (Formerly The Wild Strawberry Coffee Shop)
017687 74399
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 114 Restaurants in Keswick
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Small Local Family run coffee shop and tearoom offering light lunches ,Homemade Soups,Scones,Cakes and vintage Afternoon teas ...Renowned for its full Cumbrian Breakfasts
cheshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

we all make a point of dropping in for a drink and a cake when visiting Keswick good selection of lovely cakes the carrot cake is a favorite good atmosphere and friendly service

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    47
    15
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best carrot cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

In town for the Christmas lights switch on, we made for the Wild Strawberry. This is one of our favourite cafes, it is a lovely, quaint, warm and welcoming place where staff speak to you in a pleasant manner. My partner had a glass of mulled wine and I had my usual Earl Grey with a wonderfully moist piece of carrot cake. The girl who served us was very pleasant and engaged us in conversation, lovely. We read a review that moaned about the fact that pushchairs were not welcome, well, if you visit you can see that it isn't practical to have some of todays monstrous size child carriers, and, yes, I am a grandmother who has had to negotiate one of these things This is a well run cafe and very pleasant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful place for cake and a warm drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Popped in after a long walk and was greeted by a warm smile and welcome. Excellent selection of cakes and savoury snacks. The hot chocolate with cream and marshmallows was brill. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A great little find in Keswick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We frequently visit the Lakes, and do love coming into Keswick. We've always struggled to find a 'nice little cafe', so don't quite know how we missed The Wild Strawberry Coffee Shop. Visited twice in our three day stay, once for drinks and another for lunch. Each time we were greeted by very friendly staff. They do a table service which is nice to find these days. When we went in for drinks it was fairly quiet but much busier when we went for lunch (and also half term), so service was a little slower, however I don't mind this, if the staff are welcoming, and you can see they are working hard. The home-made curried parsnip soup was delicious, and the hot chocolate was good and hot. We will visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A place to return to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

With the rain falling it was time to find somewhere for lunch and I am glad we chose The Wild Strawberry. The warming mulled wine could have seen me stay there all afternoon and the food was everything we could have hoped for.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wild Strawberry also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Wild Strawberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wild Strawberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.