We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wild Strawberry

The Wild Strawberry
52/54 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5JT, England (Formerly The Wild Strawberry Coffee Shop)
017687 74399
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 98 Restaurants in Keswick
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Small Local Family run coffee shop and tearoom offering light lunches ,Homemade Soups,Scones,Cakes and vintage Afternoon teas ...Renowned for its full Cumbrian Breakfasts
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Called for a Coffee this morning, came back for afternoon tea absolutely fab worth waiting for the tea for two. Service is excellent very pleasant and welcoming atmosphere. We be back .......

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildstrawb, Owner at The Wild Strawberry, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for review ,we do appreciate your comments...All our produce is locally sourced whereever possible,and the scones are baked freshly everyday ...look forward to seeiong you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    54
    16
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Keswick
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The perfect breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a lovely coffee shop, always busy with locals as well as visitors (Always a good sign!).
I usually have a full English and its perfect! Never too expensive and the food and service are great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildstrawb, Owner at The Wild Strawberry, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review......We do pride ourselves on our "made to Order" Full Cumbrian Breakfasts ....Hence the "Gaurdian" quoting us as the best Lakeland Breakfast !!
The fact that you keep coming in is testament to that ,thank you again ...perhaps loyalty cards are in order !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Should have gone elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This wasn't for us I'm afraid. We wanted a light bite and a coffee but we found stern notices on the tables, warning us not to sit on certain tables as we were a couple. A bit annoying as the place was hardly heaving, and they had closed the upstairs seating area too. This means we had to fit a meal on a teeny table. The food was okay but the service was quite rushed , very much a ' turn them over and out ' kind of attitude, which is a shame. They seemed a little miffed that a tip wasn't given either. There is stiff competition in Keswick for food and drink and I wished we had gone somewhere else, even if to just feel a little more relaxed and perhapd to sit where we wanted to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildstrawb, Owner at The Wild Strawberry, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
I am so sorry that you had a poor experience here....and welcome your comments .Just to clarify though ,we don`t have any "weeny" tables all tops are solid slate 600mm dia more than adequate for even our biggest breakfast plates!! The signs are put out at busy times so that we can accomodate families and larger groups rather than dissapoint .
The "rushed" staff you refer to work that way due to the fact that they are very busy and customers generally want prompt service.We are currently serving between 400 to 500 people per day in August ,and yours is the only complaint !!
If you would like to find a nice quiet coffee shop in the middle of August in Keswick maybe somewhere else would be better...A flask by the lake perhaps !.Finally to suggest that my staff appeared "miffed" by not getting a tip is totally unfounded !!.......See you in January
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice place for a bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

had sandwiches and drinks, chose the cumberland sausage, I had expected a traditional curly sausage, but was a little disappointed to see halved sausages, looked like they had come from a ordinary supermarket packet . surroundings were clean and bright and excellent service

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildstrawb, Owner at The Wild Strawberry, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Glad you enjoyed our little Coffee Shop and Tearoom...Just to clarify ,the curly sausage is bought from the supermarket ...we use local Cumberland Sausage which is thicker that we portion ourselves ..if we try to form a wheel with sausage that thick ,it won`t fit on your plate let alone the bap !! ...look forward to welcoming you here soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Lovely little cafe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A lovely little cafe serving simple nice well presented food.
Ideal for walkers who can drop-in from a strenuous walk on the fells.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildstrawb, Owner at The Wild Strawberry, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your valued review..all our cakes are Homemade by the owner and Scones freshly baked twice a day (more at busy times !!)....Its so nice to hear positive reviews in a world where all some people want to do is complain .......We look forward to welcoming you back ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wild Strawberry also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Wild Strawberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wild Strawberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.