We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keswick weekend away.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LakeSide House

Save Saved
You added LakeSide House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LakeSide House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   40 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5ES, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #23 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Rainford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Keswick weekend away.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Couldn't fault the facility's one bit,all the staff were polite, helpful and funny in the ha ha way.your just a stones throw away from the centre,the markets are good and all the pubs are friendly.Breakfast is a must they are not shy with the portions.

Room Tip: Any room it isn't disappointing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and for some fantastic feedback. Its so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are lucky to have a good team at LakeSide House who all enjoy their roles and its so nice to hear that this comes across to our guests in the customer service we provide. Your feedback as always has been shared with all the staff who love to hear that their hard work is being well received. We look forward to welcoming you back to LakeSide House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    26
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
185
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the Lakeside House Hotel. Centralling located, stunning views and car parking facilities available.

The staff were helpful and friendly, the hotel is clean and I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Room 3 has wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and for some fantastic feedback its greatly appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to LakeSide House in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenage
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Our second time to lakeside And we wouldnt go any where else The rooms are perfect as is the the breakfast As is the whole experience The girls that work there are friendly , helpful And keep the lakeside in tip top condition Travelling to the Lake district try the Lakeside you wont be disapointed

Room Tip: the hotel is a short walk to the lake an underpass from the town it is a really well postioned hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving a review and also for choosing to stay with us again at LakeSide House. We are so lucky to have a fantastic team who all enjoy what they do and its good to hear that this shows in the service we provide. We look forward to welcoming you both back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our second visit to The Lakeside Hotel and we could not imagine staying anywhere else in Keswick. A very friendly and helpful management team of Chris and Lindsey, together with the other staff make a high standard of service their priority.

The room has a nice view over Hope Park and to Cat Bells. It was nicely decorated and all fittings are of a high standard. One thermostatic controlled radiator is more than enough to maintain a comfortable room temperature. Good sized fluffy soft towels and an amazing bathroom shower, power with a capital P!

All areas of the Hotel are nicely decorated and well kept.

Breakfast is excellent. Fresh fruit salad, cereals and a grill that is nicely presented with good tasting ingredients. Good eggs, bacon and the meatiest sausage we have ever tasted. I think it would be impossible (and probably greedy!) to eat 2 of them.

There are many less pricey places to stay in Keswick, but this has got to be the best value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review and for choosing to stay with us again at LakeSide House. We are so pleased to hear that the areas we take the most pride in, Bed, Breakfast and Service are all hitting the mark. We get some fantastic feedback on our showers they are just the ticket to zing you to life after a day of fresh lake district air!. I look forward to sharing your review with the rest of the staff so that they can also see their hard work is being well received. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Fluffy towels, great bed, first class breakfast, very welcoming staff (lady with the red hair) and superb location. Wanted to steal all of the toiletries, but refrained. Can't fault the place. Will definitely come back

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us at LakeSide House and also for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you both back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlesworth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Hotel has been tastefully refurbished, spotlessly clean and the food was excellent.
The staff were friendly and very attentive.
A great location with fantastic views, there was even binoculars in the room so you could get a closure look at the Fells.
We went to see the Blues Band at the Theatre on the Lake which is only 5 minutes walk away as is the centre of Keswick.
We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Fells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review and for some fantastic feedback. We are lucky to be the closest accommodation to the Theatre by The Lake which is such an asset to the town, the shows are as good as those in the larger cities so we are very proud to have it on our doorstep. There is so much to see from the rooms its difficult to take it in so the binoculars let you see even more detail and look beyond and through to the surrounding valleys. We certainly do have a fantastic team at LakeSide House and they always appreciate hearing the feedback left by the guests. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to LakeSide House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great location. Can walk into town. Parking at hotel and then a pass for local parks. Lovely room.all quality furnishings, clean and comfortable. Food offered was varied but cooked dishes could have been better. Staff pleasant.

Room Tip: Room 9 had lovely views to cat bells etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that you felt the cooked dishes could have been better as our breakfasts are something we take great effort in to ensure our guests are happy. Our location is ideal and we are very fortunate to be so central but still quiet. Room 9 is a popular room with its front facing views of the fells and especially at this time of the year when the colours are so vibrant. We hope to see you again at LakeSide House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LakeSide House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeSide House

Address: 40 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LakeSide House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside House has been completely restored, redecorated and refurnished, to offer luxurious, contemporary guest accommodation for visitors seeking a special bed and breakfast stay in Keswick. The accommodation offers fourteen spacious en-suite bedrooms, including twin and family rooms, and our bedrooms have spectacular views of the surrounding Mountains and parks. We are just a few minutes flat walk from the shore of Derwentwater and The Theatre By The Lake. Free parking is available to all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your LakeSide House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside House Hotel Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LakeSide House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.