We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in a great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LakeSide House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added LakeSide House to your Saves list
LakeSide House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   40 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5ES, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“A hidden gem in a great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at Lakeside House B&B on a Sunday and Monday night in a Premier Lux room and had a great time. Super convenient location for the shops & restaurants in the high-street in Keswick and only 5 minutes walk away from the edge of Derwentwater (and Friars Crag). We couldn't fault the room (#16) - clean, comfy and much bigger than I was expecting. The bed was the largest I've even slept in and super comfortable, so much so that we asked for the make/specs before leaving on Tuesday. Room 16 is at the top of the B&B and so there's quite a climb through 5 flights of stairs to reach it, but it's definitely worth the effort as we heard little/no noise throughout our stay besides the baa's from the lambs when we had the windows open :) The room is also side-facing of the B&B and so looks upon Catbells and a number of other imposing fells which made for some amazing views in the morning. We missed the view as soon as we left. The breakfast was great - full (light) Cumbrian breakfast or an assortment of other items (Eggs Benedict, Smoked Salmon etc) and fruit juice etc. The staff were all super-friendly and manager Lyndsey went out of her way to be helpful, including allowing me to hide a surprise Birthday bottle of champers in the B&B fridge and providing a cooler/glasses & tray for that evening. Recommended, we'll be back! :)

Room Tip: We heard room 2 is popular as it's dual-aspect, but 16 at the top of the B&B was superb also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you both for staying at LakeSide House and for such a fantastic review. Room 16 offers some stunning views which are ever changing as the seasons move on. I am delighted you and Anna enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated so thank you and we look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
237
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dronfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at Lakeside for 2 nights and the standard was amazing. I was a little disappointed as the room I booked was having a bathroom refit that had overrun and we were moved to another room but the room offered was absolutely gorgeous too and we were also given a discount for the inconvenience which I thought was a very nice touch which they did not have to offer at all.
Its position was perfect, just a 5 minute walk from the town center and Derwent Water.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of LakeSide House. We struggled to schedule the refit of this particular room in around our existing bookings, its fantastic to hear that you are looking to return and we will of course do our best to ensure you get Room 16 so that you can see the completed works. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the LakeSide House for 4 nights. It is GREAT! You can't beat the location -- across the walk from Hope Park, a 5 min. stroll from the lake in one direction, 5 min. from the Moot Hall (in the center of town) in the other direction. The room was comfortable and VERY clean. The breakfasts are WONDERFUL. And Peter and his wife are friendly and helpful. We'd definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Our room faced the park. There was "people" noise during the afternoon, but it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review, we are always delighted to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We are so lucky to be located where we are its a great central but still very quiet location. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Although the Lakeside House is certainly of a high standard overall, my brother was disappointed with the single room for which he paid more than we did in a premier room. Due to the lack of space, there was no chair in his room and in the tiny bathroom, the sink was so small, he kept banging his head on the tap and shelf. I understand that single people occupying a double room have to pay more, but this room was definitely only for one person, and as the standard was considerably lower than any of the other rooms, I think it should have been cheaper, not the most expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and we are sorry to hear that the single room was disappointing. When sharing a room the price will always be less as the price is split between two people, as opposed to staying in a room on your own. Room 6 is indeed our smallest room and has a double bed for guest comfort which does of course impact on the overall space. The virtual tour on our website does clearly show the layout of the room so that guests are fully aware of what to expect prior to arrival. We hope that you will stay with us again at LakeSide House, and once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Rooms are superb, food amazing and staff wonderful. Would definitely stay again. The location is excellent, a few minutes walk from Keswick Town Centre and a few minutes walk from Derwentwater. I really cannot praise the place enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of LakeSide House. To hear such praise is fantastic and as with all our reviews, has been fed back to the staff so that they can see their hard work is being well received. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our first stay at the Lakeside and we had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay.
The location could not be better. Short walk to the lakeside and theatre and an even shorter walk into the town. The Lakeside House is very friendly and informal, we could not have wished for anywhere better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at LakeSide House. We are so fortunate to be in such a quiet yet central location. The Theatre by The Lake is popular with our guests and we are proud ambassadors of this fantastic local attraction. We hope to welcome you back to LakeSide House in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was our second visit to the Lakeside house. It cannot be faulted in any way. It is spotlessly clean, very comfortable and has one of the best breakfasts I have had on my travels. we will be back and we will be recommending it to friends.

Room Tip: stayed in 2 different rooms. both great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeSide123, Manager at LakeSide House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of your most recent stay with us at LakeSide House, returning guests are the best accolade a business could wish for so thank you for choosing to stay with us once again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LakeSide House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeSide House

Address: 40 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LakeSide House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside House has been completely restored, redecorated and refurnished, to offer luxurious and contemporary guest accommodation for visitors seeking a special bed and breakfast stay in Keswick. The accommodation offers fourteen spacious en-suite bedrooms available to view through the virtual tour on our website where its recommended you book direct for a guaranteed best price. Our bedrooms have spectacular views of the surrounding Mountains and parks. We are just a few minutes flat walk from the shore of Derwentwater and The Theatre By The Lake. Free parking is available to all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your LakeSide House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside House Hotel Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LakeSide House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.