We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely bistro food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakes Bar & Bistro

Lakes Bar & Bistro
25 Station Street, Keswick CA12 5HH, England
+44 17687 74080
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lakes Bar & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 114 Restaurants in Keswick
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A relaxed Bar & Bistro Offering Excellent Cask Beer, Lager, Cider & excellent wines together with Locally Sourced Freshly Cooked Food.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“lovely bistro food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

we had the fish sharing platter which was really lovely - a nice atmosphere - have also eaten there with friends which was also lovely

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    79
    29
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Three of us went for an impromptu meal. No burgers unfortunately but I had a "pie" instead, despite the lack of sides and bottom the shortcrust pastry lid was good and it was accurately described on the menu. All the other dishes were great and the service was good despite the place being full.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Having been told to take a menu and that the waitress would come and take our order, we sat for fifteen minutes and were totally ignored. Two couples who came into the bar after ourselves were served with drinks. We eventually left not having been served. The food may be nice according to what other reviewers have said but you need to get served first!
Would recommend Pumpkins in preference.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“mums birthday meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

we went here to celebrate mums birthday as it was recommended to us as a family member had already been here . we really enjoyed our meal the food was top class . The only fault I could find was it was only small and very quiet you could hear a pin drop ..I would advise the put some light music in the background as there was a group of us and wanted to have a good chat and a laugh as it was a birthday celebration . I strongly recommend the antipasto sharing starter and the chicken kiev, we will return

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dog friendly, Great food & nice atmosphere ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Had a lovely meal made all the better because we could have our dogs with us. Many pubs allow dogs in but it is unusual to find a restaurant that welcomes them. It was a pleasure to eat here, and with the great food they served we will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakes Bar & Bistro also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Lakes Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakes Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.