We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bryson's Tea Room & Craft Bakery

Bryson's Tea Room & Craft Bakery
42 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5JD, England
017687 72257
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 113 Restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: Bakery, Tea Room
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
high spen
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

managed to get a table for six after playing musical chairs although not to busy for a Friday afternoon, service was okay but got one order wrong, food was enjoyable

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    50
    34
    36
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Average overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We didnt order food as looked pricey but had a cup of tea and a glass of coke, ok atmosphere. 3 staff working, one knew what she was doing and was efficient. Lovely gent bringing out food. Tea wasn't all that nice, very pg tips really :/

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra T, Owner at Bryson's Tea Room & Craft Bakery, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, though it is difficult to obtain a reflection of our offering from a cup of tea and a soft drink......

With regard to the tea, it is a blend from a local Cumbrian as opposed to PG tips! However we are in the process of reviewing the tea offering with a view to changing the Tearoom Blend and extending the offering of Speciality Teas. Perfect with a slice of cake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely apple pie, terrible service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for late lunch to be ignored by the upstairs staff who told us to sit wherever without turning to turning to look at us then proceeded to talk loudly across the room, ignore my boyfriends request for milk with his coffee and then be rude to other customers.
The cafe is clean and pleasant, the apple pie and coffee was lovely but the poor staff make it awkward to sit there for long.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The ground floor of this cafe was packed out which we thought was a good sign. The waitress suggested we go upstairs to the larger dining area. We did just that and waited a few minutes to be seated. Noone serving showed any interest and so we sat down at an empty table for two. After 15 minutes we still hadn't been served and in between that time we noticed people waiting a considerable time to be seated and to pay for their meal. We gave up after 20 minutes and as we walked out noone noticed we had left. There were two waitresses and one person clearing, not enough staff in our opinion but as the restaurant upstairs wasn't as busy as downstairs, where they seemed to be coping quite well, I can't see how the three staff were struggling. It was 1.45 in the afternoon and so we had missed the lunchtime rush upstairs. As Event planners we were looking for places in Keswick to recommend our clients and we certainly wouldn't recommend this to them or our friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Why bother going to Bryson's at Keswick”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Poor service, wrong items and over priced... Go elsewhere for better service, and better value, there are plenty of others to choose from.

On the upside it was a Saturday morning and the market was on. So I got myself some nice treats

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra T, Owner at Bryson's Tea Room & Craft Bakery, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
With such a review title we did want to address any issues the reviewer had. However it was not possible to do so from the review alone as there are no details, and the outline vague.
We have attempted to contact the reviewer via Trip Advisor for more detail but no response has been received as yet....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bryson's Tea Room & Craft Bakery also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Bryson's Tea Room & Craft Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryson's Tea Room & Craft Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.