We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claremont House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claremont House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back home after another great stay with Joy and Phil. Fully recommend this B&B - extremely clean, comfy and great breakfast. Safe place to park your car and store your bikes. Thanks for your hospitality and some good recommendations especially the evening river cruise to end of a lovely day on our anniversary. Hope to see you both soon.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Lovely review thank you both so very much....great seeing you again, and very pleased you enjoyed spending your Wedding Anniversary at the Claremont. Opened the 2014 diary and you are booked in. See you next year, Kindest regards.
Phil and Joy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
151
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have just recently returned from a stay at Claremont House in Keswick. We were greeted with a cup of tea and slice of cake,which was a lovely touch and given such a warm welcome. We were shown to our room which was beautiful, a large bedroom (with the most comfy of beds) and a lovely en-suite which was spotlessly clean. Joy had recommended a few places to eat to suit our tastes which we were gateful for, then as the weather was superb we were able to sit in the beautiful gardens in the evening and admire the view over Keswick. The breakfast was top quality and set us up for the full day, Phil shared with us his knowledge of the area so we were able to complete some splendid walks. All in all a fantastic stay in a place we will be soon back to, I wouldn't hesitate to return to Claremont House and look forward to our next visit. Thank you to both Phil & Joy for making it a perfect break.

Room Tip: We stayed in Catbells and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we are very pleased you enjoyed our newly re-furbished Catbells room. Our guests do love to sit out in our garden when the weather allows and we are pleased you enjoyed the lovely views of the mountains and fells. Thank you also for your very positive comments on our breakfasts, we like to make sure our guests fill up for the day ahead. Looking forward to seeing you both again. Kindest regards. Phil and Joy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night in July.It was easy to find and there was space to park outside.The garden was gorgeous and had lovely views over Keswick. Our room (the Blencathra) was large,clean and had a seriously comfy bed.The bathroom was a good size and it has a seating area too.The views are great too.The only thing was the room didn't have curtains (it did have blinds) but it meant the room was light quite early and the road outside was noisy in the morning,if you were a light sleeper you may hear it.We slept very well however.It was about 15-20 min walk into town.The breakfast was great and the hosts were really lovely.Would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Kind regards. Phil and Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Owners very warm and welcoming without being obtrusive. Great view of mountains from the garden which was lovely garden. Bit of a hilly walk back from town centre, room had chairs to look out onto the garden

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your mini break with us at Claremont House. Yes our garden is lovely, and the views are truly amazing. Kind regards. Phil and Joy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was a beautiful place to recover from jetlag. We stayed 3 nights and found the beds to be very comfortable, the room was clean and spacious and the breakfast was delicious. Another bonus was the complimentary parking. Phil and Joy were great hosts and offered great recommendations for seeing the local area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for a great review, so pleased you found Claremont House to be the place you could unwind and relax. Very pleased you loved your room and our breakfasts.
Kind regards. Phil and Joy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Claremont House late May and enjoyed our stay. The room was clean with a comfortable bed and nice view from our window. Phil and Joy were welcoming hosts and we were given very helpful information regarding walks in the area and places worth visiting. Breakfast was great as was the company of other guests. Can recommend Claremont House to anyone thinking of visiting Keswick.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review, hope you are both safely back in Oz now, kindest regards. Phil and Joy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Another excellent stay with phil and joy. If anything it gets better every time and we are planning our next stay already.Nothing is too much trouble and everything is so clean and comfortable. Breakfast is delicious and really enjoy a bit of banter. Walking is great straight from the door and love leaving the car parked up all weekend. Thanks again and hope to see you both later in the year.
dawn and rob(or is it aurthur?)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy H, Owner at Claremont House, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
So good to see you both again, (Dawn and Arthur,) I mean Dawn and Rob, thank you for a great review, we are also looking forward to your next visit. Kindest regards. Phil and Joy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claremont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont House

Address: Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Claremont House 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claremont House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.