We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service,great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bar 26

Cafe Bar 26
26 Lake Rd Keswick | Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DQ, England
+44 17687 80863
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 116 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza, Coffee Shop, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Located on a bustling pedestrian street in the heart of Keswick, close to the busy market square and shores of Lake Derwentwater, Cafe Bar 26 is a relaxed Mediterranean style cafe bistro by day and a vibrant wine and cocktail bar in the evening with a unique atmosphere. Feeling peckish? We serve tasty cooked breakfasts every morning 8.45Am - 11.30Am, brunch and lunch from Midday until 3.00Pm and tapas and Italian style flatbreads 5.30Pm - 8.30Pm. We also serve great illy coffee, interesting wines, continental beers, cocktails and champagne all day long! Perfect after a day on the fells or simply a stroll around the shops. There is also Live Music every Wednesday and Thursday from 9.00Pm.
Keswick
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service,great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

once again cant go wrong with Bar 26,great service and great food,nice atmosphere,staff very attentive,we will be back..

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    119
    27
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Holiday tapas to remember”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stumbled upon this little gem whilst looking for an alternative meal and we weren't disappointed! The food was superb and excellent value for money, friendly service and a fantastic atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone and we will certainly be visiting again

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fresh and a little fancy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stopped by for a quick snack but ended up ordering the Goan Fish Curried Stew as its description proved too tempting for my belly.

My wife opted for the BLT, which came served with the option of chips, salad or their home made soup of the day. Although tasty and made from good produce, this was barely a sandwich as it was served open atop a slice of ciabatta bread, which meant that my wife had to tackle the "sandwich" with a knife and fork.

My curried fish stew was beautiful. Light, very spicy and bursting with flavour. The rice was served subtly underneath the broth and it was accompanied with some beautiful fresh slices of homemade bread. The fish was so soft and moist that it literally melted on the tongue.

My coffee was unfortunately nothing worth mentioning in this review, and the venue itself is pleasant and well laid out.

Would I recommend? Yes.

Would I return? Yes.

We'll leave it at that I think.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb Lunch and Really friendly atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch here on 18th August 2014. The staff were very welcoming and the surroundings were warm , contemporary , crisp and clean. We felt immediately at ease and ordered a couple of large glasses of Pinot Grigio as we watched the world go by in a window seat. We enjoyed some tasty olives as we waited for our food to arrive . I had a dish called "Fishy Dishy" which comprised of a selection of deep fried whitebait , Plaice Goujon strips , calamari , Smoked salmon and pickled veg with a couple of dips. It really was delicious and if you like lots of different flavours and dishes then i would heartily recommend.

My wife enjoyed a Goan fish stew which had bags of flavour. This was not for the faint hearted! If you like spice then this will please. Our son(10) enjoyed a beef burger and fries which he declared was "Epic"

The price of everything was reasonable and we left feeling very satisfied. We will return next year. One special mention for the young waiter that served us who said that he was originally from Southampton and was visiting his family. He had a very friendly manner and looked after us superbly. Well done Cafe 26!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a bit over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This was our first time at bar 26. There were 6 of us and the weather was dreadful. We were greeted by a warm welcome and the staff very friendly. Tapas was a bit over priced and lacked atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bar 26 also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Cafe Bar 26? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bar 26, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.