We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further - this B&B is absolutely superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beeches Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beeches Guest House
Save
You added The Beeches Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stone
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Look no further - this B&B is absolutely superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked a couple of nights here on the strength of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, and it exceeded all expectations.
A free upgrade to a lovely room, as we were the only guests that weekend. The room was expensively furnished, looking out over Skiddaw. A fabulous bathroom with thick fluffy towels. Tea, coffee and a selection of biscuits were provided and replenished the next day.
The best part was when we actually went to bed, such a comfortable bed, 6 feet wide and a quilt that you could disappear into!
I say that was the best part, but even better was breakfast! We opted for the full English, two grilled on-the-vine tomatoes on a piece of fried bread, back bacon, egg, mushrooms and a thick, very meaty Cumberland sausage, makes my mouth water thinking about it even now, and it certainly set us up for the day!
Brian and Irena are fantastic hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrenaHough, Owner at The Beeches Guest House, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words, we are thrilled that you enjoyed both the bed and the breakfast so much. Please come back and see us soon.
Irena and Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
116
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Beeches Guest House is 5 star! Clean, comfortable and worth every penny.
Irena and Brian Hough made us very welcome, lovely friendly warm people.
The breakfast was first class.
We have stayed in 5 star hotels in London, Paris and the USA and we can honstley say The Beeches was just as good.
We look forward to returning in the Spring / Summer

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having stayed at many different hotels and guest houses in Keswick over the last 20 years, I was sufficiently impressed by The Beeches to priortise writing this review. We stayed last weekend and will definitely return in future. The entire experience was very good but I would particularly like to make reference to the comfortable, spacious bed, fresh and attractive decor and, last but not least, the outstanding breakfast. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We love Keswick and like to try a new B+B each time....we won't bother looking elsewhere now! Fabulous house, gorgeous stained glass window (wish I had this at home), lovely bedroom and fab shower. The bed was so comfortable we could have stayed in all day, which was tempting due to the rain. Lovely cooked breakfast which set us up for the day. The walk into town is not far at all and is very helpful when returning...walking off all the food consumed! The George is THE place to eat....fab food. Warm and friendly hosts, what more can you ask for.

Oh and orchids....I love orchids! :))

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

what a beautiful house,with a lovely lounge full of books,tv & dvd player,we had an amazing breakfast,which could of been anything we asked for,we had a great modern clean room,this is a perfect b&b,and brian was a great host,this place should be number 1, dont stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: number 3 was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We looked at Tripadvisor for an alternative to our preferred Keswick B&B as it is very often fully booked. Having tried a few others in the past and been much less than impressed, we turned to the reviews on this site for guidance this time.

The boxes we were looking to tick - good value, something that looks and feels a bit special, modern but in keeping with the area, friendly and with a great breakfast.

I'm delighted to say The Beeches did not disappoint on any of these fronts! We would heartily recommend staying here, and we certainly will be again without question, if our 'usual' haunt is busy.

Room 2 was where we stayed and we were delighted with it - though it doesn't have a bath, which we were slightly sad about - but to make up for it the shower is epic.

We had bought a bottle of champagne to toast our weekend away and had left it in the room to go for a wander into town. When we returned, we found that Brian and Irena had chilled the bottle just perfectly for us - a great personal touch which we both really appreciated!

The only thing we'd say is that perhaps we'd like to order breakfast each morning when we go downstairs rather than when we first arrive at the guest house - and we'd prefer to select the items we'd like from the available menu.

We were asked if it would be 'full English' when we first arrived and we said yes, though we assumed we'd be asked in the morning exactly what we'd prefer. The following morning two (very beautifully cooked and utterly delicious) full English breakfasts arrived on our table in a very efficient manner, but my girlfriend has a strange 'phobia'(?!) of eggs - and of course there was an egg on her plate. From there she just nibbled round the outside a little trying to avoid 'anything that had touched the egg' and I ended up with the rest.

I realise this is probably an odd situation as I've never met another human being who is 'scared' of eggs, but even I would like to feel like there's a choice - even if I do end up choosing the same thing every day!

We did ask on day two for the egg to be put on my plate though, and of course this was no problem at all.

Previous posts about the 'unfriendly' nature of the hosts, I'm afraid I just can't agree with. Both were lovely, very accommodating and extremely friendly. Irena suggested a few events which were going on in Keswick that evening, which would otherwise have turned into a night in front of the telly - so she helped us make the most of the limited time we had in the Lakes this time.

And with regard to the beds not being made - ours was. And speaking of the bed, it is utterly fantastic.

I've marked The Beeches with five stars for everything except location only because it's a mile or two out of the centre of Keswick meaning either a jump in the car or a slightly longer walk (fine during the day, a bit tedious later on when you just want to put your feet up!) Actually, it's closer to town than our usual haunt in Keswick. It's a perfectly manageable walk, and actually a very nice one if you use the railway path during daylight hours.

Book The Beeches, and you won't be disappointed. A credit to Brian and Irena, well done!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The welcome is warm and the guest house does not disappoint. The room was huge as was the bed and immaculately clean. The en suite was excellent and had the biggest shower head I've ever seen. We had a full English breakfast and it was delicious, especially the sausage. The parking is good but you do have to walk some way to the heart of Keswick. I would highly recommend the Beeches and would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: go for the super kingsize room the bed could sleep a family of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beeches Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Guest House

Address: Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beeches Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beeches is a large Victorian residence built in 1884 which has recently undergone extensive restoration by its owners Brian and Irena Hough. The house has been sympathetically refurbished in a contemporary, yet comfortable style retaining many of the original features. The Beeches provides elegant and relaxing accommodation and is the ideal base from which to explore Keswick and the stunning Lake District National Park ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beeches Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.