We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly and Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beeches Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beeches Guest House
Save
You added The Beeches Guest House to your Saves list
Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunderland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Friendly and Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I decided to try this guest house for the weekend as a nice relaxing break from the children. We were so pleased we had picked it. We received a very warm welcome, the room was very comfortable, clean and had ample room and the breakfast was absolutely wonderful. I would deffinately return here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
116
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This B&B is Bliss on a Budget.

Look no further for a luxurious B&B at a knock down price. This is a top quality hidy hole in a tastefully restored Edwardian Town House in the pleasant Keswick suburbs, with easy access to both town and mountains.

We stayed 2 nights on 15th/16th June 2012 during which we experienced some pretty heavy rain, but found pleanty of warmth and comfort in the house.

The double glazed en suite rooms are beautuifully fitted out with modern furniture, including TV and hot drinks facilities. Comfy soft sofas look onto a stunning Edwardian fire place in the spacious uncluttered lounge with TV, games, and impressive book collection to hand. Ideal if you're not up for getting out and about on a wet day. The main hall and stairwell are magnificent.

Hosts, Brian and Irena cater for all your wants. Full English, fresh fruit, guava nectar on your posrridge, or sherry in your room. Nothing seems to be too much trouble.

At £80 a night for a double room B&B, this is a snip and should not be missed. Book now.

We just have.

R&L Derbyshire

Room Tip: ROOM 3 with dual aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Beeches Guest House, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again, lets hope for better weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We very much enjoyed our 3-night stay at The Beeches! Our room, Number 2, a superking, was large and airy and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable; the bathroom modern, with a good shower and plenty of hot water. Brian offered us a wide variety of choices for breakfast, but the Whitby kippers were so delicious that we had them every morning! We enjoyed an evening chat with Brian and Irena in the lounge with a lovely fire in the fireplace. The B&B was convenient for exploring Keswick, Windermere, Grasmere and the Ullswater. We would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have just returned from spending two nights at The Beeches and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were made to feel very welcome. The rooms were of a high standard, clean, with a comfortable bed and tastefully decorated. I was really impressed with the attention to detail as I have a gluten intolerance which can sometimes be difficult but I was provided with gluten free bread and every effort was made to ensure that my dietary needs were catered for. I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay at The Beeches the owners were friendly, very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Beeches Guest House has been tastefully restored to a very high standard. The bedrooms are modern, immaculate and well equipped with one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. The owners are friendly, attentive.....and make a fabulous breakfast! We hope to make a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My partner booked this weekend away for me for my birthday.The weekend was brill the hotel is just the best you can get.The owners are very nice and the breakfast to also the room was very nice carnt wait to come again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This b&b normally only accodates for 2 nites at weekend I contacted to see if they would accomodate 1 nite (sat 26 May) which they kindly did and I must say I am so glad I asked.
The room was spotless, the breakfast was excellent, the owners were helpful and friendly I having nothing bad to say about this b&b.
Well worth a visit we will definately be going back.

Room Tip: loved room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beeches Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Guest House

Address: Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beeches is a large Victorian residence built in 1884 which has recently undergone extensive restoration by its owners Brian and Irena Hough. The house has been sympathetically refurbished in a contemporary, yet comfortable style retaining many of the original features. The Beeches provides elegant and relaxing accommodation and is the ideal base from which to explore Keswick and the stunning Lake District National Park ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beeches Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.