We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest B&B we've ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolly Waggon Guest House

Dolly Waggon Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dolly Waggon Guest House to your Saves list
Dolly Waggon Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   17 Helvellyn Street, Keswick CA12 4EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nicest B&B we've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

I didn't have a TripAdvisor account before staying here and specifically got one after our stay. Amanda and Ross were absolutely amazing hosts! Fresh tea and milk upon arrival and after every hike, delicious meals, and great chat! We were given excellent local advice about hikes and even a few free maps. It definitely helped that we slept like bricks in the newly renovated room :) A++ from this corner!

Room Tip: Request the room looking over LaTrigg :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Stayed for two nights in April and was not dissapointed with our choice. Easy to find and park up. Greeted by the hosts dog who was instantly loveable but did not pester us . Amanda showed us to the room , clean /tidy/modern and even supplied a great cuppa after our long journey. Room has free WiFi which , is a great change from my usual extensive travels. Sattalite TV with multiple channels, also an adquete on suite went down great with us.
Very quiet surroundings despite being so close to the centre of town, a great breakfast to set us up and with plenty of choice. Amanda even arranged local bike hire for us and supplied copius amounts of local information and pamphlets for us to enjoy stay. The B&B prides itself on its environmental aspects and this was well appreciated.
All in all a great stay and service made for a very pleasant short stay and would definetly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Breakfast was wonderful and filling
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed at the Dolly waggon just for one night on 15th September 2010 as part of our Coast to Coast cycle ride. We were very impressed with all aspects. We were greeted with a cup of tea or coffee and a great room. Amanda and her family were very friendly and she even washed some kit for us which made the following day's cycling much pleasenter. breakfast was high quality. Great loacation for a stroll into town for a beer or two. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shields tyne wear
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

we stayed at the dollywaggon in keswick march 15 for 2 nights & it is a great place to stay very well run by a lovely family & we can definatly recomend it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolly Waggon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolly Waggon Guest House

Address: 17 Helvellyn Street, Keswick CA12 4EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolly Waggon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run guest house in a quiet residential area within easy walking distance of Keswick town centre, the theatre and the lake. Our five en-suite guest rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. Breakfasts are cooked using locally sourced, fair trade and organic ingredients and include traditional English with vegetarian options, or you can choose from several lighter options. Special diets can be catered for. Tea and coffee are Fair Trade. A warm welcome awaits you. Non smoking. No pets. No children under 12 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Dolly Waggon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolly Waggon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.