We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really that good at all!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 17 Again

17 Again
18 Station Street, Keswick CA12 5HF, England
017687 71171
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 113 Restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Maryport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not really that good at all!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I took my friend there last weekend as it looked really nice from the outside and had an excellent review from Trip Advisor on the door.
Service was very poor despite only two tables being used.
Tea was served in coffe pot.
Knives, spoons and forks were handed to us by the waitress with her fingers all over the 'eating' end.
No serviiettes provided.
No hot milk for coffee provided
Waitress complaining that 'the woman' presumably the owner never tells them what is available - not good dissing the boss!
4 people huddled in the kitchen, but we had to ask twice for the bill and wait ages for it to arrive.
We did not leave a tip, but here is one for you - go somewhere else instead

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    15
    4
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We decided that 17 again looked quirky and interesting and after just arriving in Keswick we thought the allure of the decor was enough for us to go in ...... What a shame.
The service was poor, it was obvious the girl had no real experience in serving. I asked what the soup was to which she replied " I don't know I will ask" bearing in mind this was 3pm I should have at that point realised it wasn't coming from a soup pot but more than likely out a can! The soup was meant to be vegetable but tasted nothing like it and my partner had a toastie which was average. I left the whole bowl of soup and when we were paying we did not even get a thank you after handing over the money. Much nicer places available don't be drawn in by the decor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Need proper service - could be good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Empty but could see a guy in the back room who shouted he would be out soon - big sure what hd was doing. Coffee was OK. Had to go looking for him agsin to Pay. Felt totally unwelcome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Be patient, it's worth it :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were told to try this place as it was known for being quirky. I think we would have just walked past it otherwise.
Upon entry there were no staff to be seen and we were not sure if we were in a shop or café or both. My partner and I sat down but did wonder if anyone would appear. We saw many other people pop in, look around confused and walk back out. We looked at the menu and eventually a young bloke came out to take our order. He wasn't very enthusiastic or welcoming but was friendly enough. The food was gorgeous and beautifully presented. There were very nice touches such as heart shaped shortbread biscuits with our coffee. I would go again purely for the food but not the service. I really hope that someone will start greeting people when they enter as they will go out of business if not and it would be a real shame.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North lincolnshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Quick, friendly service even at a busy time and great food reasonably priced. We went back the following night, just for dessert!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 17 Again also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to 17 Again? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 17 Again, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.