We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Health Hazard” 2 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Keswick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Keswick to your Saves list
YHA Keswick
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Health Hazard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed for four nights. The hostel was very close to a Sportive Bike Ride we had entered. Dreadful condensation. Damp wall which had mouldy patch. I have very well controlled Asthma and very rarely need to use an inhaler. However on the Saturday i had to take a trip to the Chemist to buy a Salbutamol Inhaler. The atmosphere in that room (202) caused breathing issues. Also the radiator in our room banged endlessly. Had to keep switching it off which was unfortunate because i hoped warming the room would cure the condensation. In fact all the radiators on my floor were banging. They all need attention.

Got 2 x £35 parking fines. After unloading using the disc available from Reception you need to drive 400 yards up the road. Our car overlapped some double yellow lines obscured by leaves!

Booked breakfast for one of our mornings. When we arrived they had run out so had to hang around whilst a fresh batch was cooked.

On the plus side cleanliness was of a reasonable standard and we were able to lock-up our cycles. Drying room brilliant as we got soaked on our Walk around Derwentwater.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Lynda, Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you found your room unsuitable. The problems you mention have been taken care of. I understand our staff spent quite some time with you discussing cycle routes and places to go. If you had mentioned your problems to them they would have done their best to accommodate you in a alternative room. We did not have any small rooms available but did have a 5 bed room to which you could have been relocated. In future if whilst staying in any hostel you find something not to your liking then please do mention this to a staff member so we can resolve the issue if at all possible during your stay. With regard the parking we do explain our parking restriction to guests and as you say offer the discs but care needs to be taken to ensure you are not parked after the 2 hour restriction within the boundary lines. I am sorry you had a short wait for breakfast but a least it was freshly cooked and hot. I understand you were taking part in one of the many festivals Keswick has to offer and you are regular visitors so hope we can accommodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
9
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dalton in Furness
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were a group of 8 cyclists who were on a charity bike ride and we used the Hostel as an overnight stop.
1. Very clean accommodation/Hotel
2. Very Friendly service
3. Excellent location
4. rooms basic but very comfortable (remember it is a YHA)
5. Sorry I really could not fault the place would recommend it to everyone.
6.Excellent value

Room Tip: Just phone the the Hostel and ask, you will get an honest and helpful reply.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is great to know our efforts are appreciated and that you enjoyed your visit. The amazing location and views from the hostel do help. It can be difficult to get accommodation in Keswick for 1 night stays but we offer this facility, especially for groups completing the CTC and Cumbria Way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The YHA set high standards with their hostels and this one is no exception.
Typically good value, clean and efficient with a friendly service. Special mention to Richard on the reception for his enthusiasm and courtesy.
Plenty of facilities including spacious lounges, good self catering kitchen and bike storage. Excellent, clean, showers and toilets.
The restaurant is excellent and offers good food at competitive prices, all done with smiley faces.
Beautiful location by the river and right on the edge of action, just a few moments walk from the town centre attractions.
Keswick itself is a lovely, vibrant, Lake District town and being fairly small has a cosier feel to it than, say, Kendal. Perfect for walks around Derwent Water or Skiddaw and close enough to the mountain bike trail centre of Whinlatter to ride in to without using the car (beware of the steep climb up to the pass though, it's a good one!). Whinlatter has some fun trails and is worth a visit.
The WiFi is decent but unlike most hostels these days you still have to pay for it, no complaints though because the YHA is still a charity remember!
Great place to hang out and well worth the competitive price for a bed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking time to let us know that you had a great time and enjoyed the town as well as the hostel. We now hope to open the restaurant in the afternoon and well as the evening .
We do try to keep high standards throughout and it is great when thanks for our efforts are received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

There is a different dynamic in the Keswick YHA compared to other Lake District hostels. It attracts more student/foreign traveller types and less of the traditional, self-catering guests. It was surprising the corridors were lined with boots and wet clothing, drying outside the rooms.

The room was perfect and the showers new and clean. There was a bar and breakfast was the usual '6' cooked items.

Parking is tricky but you can get a parking disc from the YHA.

It remains a handy place to lodge for that part of the Lake District.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you found the hosel clean, suitable for your needs and enjoyed its great location. We cater for all types of guests from families and internatinal guests to C2C parties and groups. We look forward to you having a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

good value for money. Rooms are a bit cramped, but we spent little time in the room. Ideal as a base for walking, cycling, sailing etc. Would i take my wife for a romantic weekend away? No, but we'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are in an ideal location for activities but also access to the town centre and all it has to offer. Wet weathr options with the shops, galleries and visitor attractions. The climbing wall is great for indoor option in poor weather. One or two rooms are a bit tight but as you said its our amazing location and other facilities that make the hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed 1 night as part of offroad C2C. Facilities ok - drying room in particular was a godsend and secure storage for bikes. School dinner style breakfast was a little disappointing and could have been more generous. Bed pretty comfy but I slept most of the night in the lounge due having to share with a loudly snoring Chinese man. Not the fault of YHA I hasten to add. Wasn't much cheaper and will probably go BnB when returning to lovely Keswick.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Sorry you were unfortunate to have someone who snored in your room. If you go hostelling and that happens again then please contact a staff member to give us the opportunity to re allocate you to another room. Guests usually find our breakfast excellent value and good quality. Apologise if you felt you wanted more you can always come back for extra helpings. We have some special offers on room pricing throughout the year so would be worth you checking us out before using a B & B. Keswick is a lovely place and fantastic for lots of activities and vibrnat town centre. As you say our cycle store and drying room are an added bonus to anyone doing CTC.Hope to have you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in the YHA Keswick for one night in July 2012 and we were very pleasantly surprised to find it situated right on the river - the noise of the water rushing by made for a very good nights' sleep :) In addition, the staff were ultra friendly, knowledgeable and friendly, the breakfast was lovely, and our room was perfectly adequate and clean. Definitely recommend a stay here :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. We have very friendly and informative staff who have a great interest in the area and good ideas on what to do. We work hard to keep standards high througout. Glad you enjoyed our excellent breakfast. Look forward to having you return for another visit. Lots to do in the area for everyone.
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Keswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.