We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YHA Keswick” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Keswick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Keswick to your Saves list
YHA Keswick
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Lanark, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“YHA Keswick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I spent two nights here in January 2012. The hostel was nice and they offered breakfast, lunch and dinner. I had breakfast and dinner on both nights and thought the meals were good, for hostel standards. The showers were lovely and warm and the rooms comfortable. However the most amazing thing was the price. They had a special offer of £10 a night, which meant £14.95 for B & B.

I got great advice from the staff re routes for hill walking which was helpful.

The downside is that they don't have a car park and you need to park on the street using a disc that the hostel staff give you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you found the hostel staff helpful and enjoyed the food and hostel generally. There are more offers on the way so keep an eye on the website.
Parking although restricted immediately outside the hostel is not usually a problem even in the height of summer. We hope you will visit again soon.
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    37
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
9
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Family of 5 stayed here in Jan 2012. Staff were very polite and efficient (obviously we did not encounter David or Felix or they have been retrained / given the boot!). Such a good budget option if you plan to be outside most of the day. Why? -

1) Location - Smack bang in the middle of one of the best areas of the lakes, the outlook of this place is great - right by the river edge and 5 mins walk from all the main shops. Park opposite. Parking O/N right outside (with permit from reception), but must move cars by 10am each day - only 100M or so up the road to free parking area.

2) Facilities - Rooms clean and warm. Nice lounge area with TV, pool table where you can make noise. Also quiet room full of serious people where you get stared at if you breathe loudly! Good drying room. Kitchen area well equipped (if a slight squish at peak meal times). We didn't eat in the canteen, but it looked fine.

3) VFM - OK so you have to be prepared to eat and cook with others around, but actually we found that fun, and I doubt there is a better Value For Money place to stay in the whole of the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keswickmanager, Manager at YHA Keswick, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Keswick and made the most of the hostel facilites. The staff are always keen to help and have a great knowlegde of the local area. I hope you will visit the hostel again and keep a look out for the spring special offers - make your next vist even better value for money .

Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights over New Year - same as last year but a big difference. We booked a 6 bedded room and were told that we could only book a 2 night package this time ( including dinner ) - Head Office had said this We paid quite a lot and were very surprised to find that their were guests cooking meals in the kitchen. I was told that the policy was to open all the rooms 3 weeks before New Year to any booking !! We were very annoyed as we had friends who also wanted to stay - for one night only !!
The YHA is losing the plot I think - I thought these hostels are for guests with limlied means/outdoor enthusiests who need beds and a kitchen . Guests who want luxury/en-suite rooms should be staying in B/B 's. I have been hostelling for over 40 years and brought my children to them - had some great times but they are not the same now. Come on YHA - get your act together and cater for who you were meant for.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed with friends for a fews days at YHA Keswick, which is right on the waters edge. The hostel is nicely furnished with a nice restaurant and lounge, as well as self-catering for those who prefer that option. We received excellent service from Martin (a very interesting, knowledgeable man) but appalling service from DAVID who really deserves the sack!!! He had a bad attitude and really didn't like the inconvenience of having to speak to hostellers. Overall, a very nice hostel let down by a couple of bad apples.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Excellent service provided by Neil and Robin. Paid for 3 nights, but checked out after 2, but was not offered reimbursement. Will not return for Christmas and New Year. Due to unprofessional and rude service provided by David and Felix, what should have been a pleasant and restful stay became otherwise. Youthful arrogance should not forget that it is paying guests who provide live-in employment. Do not ignore or patronise clients. Do not discriminate, but treat all guests equally as part of YHA ethos. Distasteful experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed for one night in a private 4 bed room. We received a warm welcome at reception and were told of the various facilities within the hostel, including lounge, dry room and restaurant. The room consisted of a bunk bed and two single beds, there was a sink and plenty of storage. The room was clean and airy. Breakfast was superb with a huge choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and cooked breakfast. The hostel was in excellent location, 5 minute stroll from the town centre.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Only stayed here for 1 night but it was most enjoyable. The Youth Hostel is situated right at the side of the River Greta. Even though there is no on site parking we had no trouble finding a space on the road nearby. It is a short walk then at the side of the river to the hostel. Check in was very quick and painless. Our room was quite small but perfectly adequate and very clean. Had a drink and sat in the common room which was very quiet and played games with our grand-daughter who is only 5 but loves staying in youth hostels. There were plenty of toilets and showers which again were very clean. Had breakfast next morning which was delicious and plentiful in the dining room which overlooks the river and Fitz Park. Overall this was a very comfortable and friendly hostel (better than some hotels we have stayed in) and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Keswick

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 5LH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Keswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Keswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.