We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lookout Keswick

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lookout Keswick
Save
You added The Lookout Keswick to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed three nights in early June and were blessed by fine weather! Chose room 3 for its views and balcony - and what views to enjoy from the pleasant garden to the uninterrupted views of the fells beyond. Being South-SouthWest facing, a glass of wine can be enjoyed in the evening while sitting on the balcony watching the sunset, wildlife and possibly even a deer. Liz and Dave totally refurbished their property some six years ago to a very high standard. The rooms are very clean and modern and the bathroom exemplary. More than ample parking and an easy walk in to Keswick along the disused railway track. We only used car once during the 3 days to drive to a restaurant in the evening otherwise we walked everywhere including a three mile walk (same disused railway line) to eat at the Horse & Farrier Inn at Threlkeld (to be recommended). Breakfast is chosen at the table, no forms to complete the night before! Very tasty and especially well presented, better than you would get in a high class hotel. Try the homemade Granola. There are only three bedrooms so there is a quiet and friendly atmosphere. Liz and Dave are excellent hosts, very welcoming and very willing to give advice on places to eat, visit and walk. They are walkers themselves so have a wealth of knowledge. Maps are available to borrow and a bonus is the free wi-fi. We enjoyed our stay so much we have already re-booked for later this year. Cant wait. We can support all the excellent reviews seen on TA.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
158
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
princesskatem
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A slightly belated review, we stayed in room 3 at The Lookout in July last year, and what a glorious stay it was. The whole place is beautifully furnished and finished, our room had a huge bed and wonderful double doors out onto our own balcony looking out across the garden and mountains in the distance. Breakfasts were yummy with a wonderful view and Dave and Liz are great hosts. The garden is delightful, there was a colourful woodpecker darting about during our stay and ducks on the pond. Our balcony allowed us a fabulous view and relaxing place to sit with a morning coffee.

Room Tip: We think room 3 is the best, it appeared to be the only one with a properly decent outside space tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A very enjoyable stay at The Lookout. Liz and Dave are the perfect hosts , very friendly and easy to chat to , informative about the local area and they have obviously put a lot of hard work , care and attention into this delightful property. They certainly deserve all the plaudits on TA .
We occupied room 1 with its outstanding views over the garden and to the hills beyond. The room was very clean and a decent size with a large comfortable bed , sofa and a simply superb bathroom with bath or power shower to choose from. Downstairs is a nice bright dining room overlooking the pretty garden. The breakfast each morning was very tasty and well cooked.
Displayed in the hallway is a photo of a youthful Dave allegedly skydiving, but to my trained eye it looks suspiciously like his younger brother from St Bees ! Dave will also regale you with tales of his mountaineering exploits up Skiddaw and even The Munros , but he is more than likely to be discovered enjoying forty winks in the afternoon sunshine on his favourite garden bench ! Anyway its plain to see who does all the hard work . .
Nearby lies the atmospheric Castlerigg stone circle set in an magnificent landscape and as previously described there is a short pleasant walk into Keswick via the old railway , whilst in the opposite direction there is the scenic four mile trail to Threlkeld with the river Greta meandering alongside. There are of course plenty of splendid walks around the shoreline of Derwent Water , a must for photography/wildlife enthusiasts.
Yes a very enjoyable stay at The Lookout and we are planning to return in the future , perhaps to enjoy the autumn colours. Chris and Diane.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Can't fault this place. There are enough parking bays for each room which made our arrival hassle free. Liz and Dave are very friendly hosts who go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. We stayed in room 1 which was very clean, modern and has views to die for. The bathroom is a fantastic feature, with a large shower and bath. Plenty of variety for breakfast, all cooked to order and well presented.

Keswick town centre is about 15 - 20 mins walk, either on the main road or down the old railway track.

All in all a wonderful place to stay. Will certainly be going back to The Lookout.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here for four nights at the end of March and cannot fault it. The view over towards Causey Pike covered in snow was amazing and we sat on our balcony with a bottle of wine (warmly wrapped up in coats and hats!) The house is spotless and the shower was the best we have ever used. Liz and Dave were perfect hosts and very helpful. Breakfasts were beautifully cooked and absolutely delicious. Will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our forth time at the lookout within just over a year. It is safe to say that this is our most favourite place to stay in the UK. Liz and Dave are excellent hosts, nothing is too much trouble. We turned up early on our first day as we wanted to do a walk and although they were still cleaning they welcomed us in with open arms. Everything about the place is great and to top it off you get an amazing view from the window every day come rain or shine. We can't wait to go back later in the year. Steve and Mel.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the best, but the other 2 are of equal quality (just minus a bath)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spotlessly clean, comfortable, and quiet. Immaculate but un-fussy décor. Comfortable bed and a big bathroom with an amazingly powerful shower. Fresh milk in a silent mini-fridge instead of horrible little packets. Absolutely mind-blowing view looking west to catch the sunset over the hills. Quality, locally-sourced, perfectly-cooked breakfasts. Quietly friendly hosts who are accommodating without being loud and overbearing (which, as a shy person, is my biggest B&B fear!)

Basically couldn’t ask for anything better. There’s a reason they’re so well-reviewed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lookout Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Keswick

Address: Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lookout Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Lookout Keswick Hotel Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lookout Keswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.