We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, with stunning views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lookout Keswick

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lookout Keswick
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Warrington, England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, with stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed for three nights over the Royal Wedding/Bank Holiday weekend and have no hesitation in recommending the Lookout. Our room (room 3) was very clean, with a very large, modern bathroom and a balcony with stunning views towards Cat Bells and Causey Pike. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Liz and Dave were very pleasant without ever being intrusive. We thought the Lookout might be further out of Keswick than we really wanted, but, in actual fact, we were pleasantly surprised at how quickly we could get into the town by walking along the old railway track. We would definitely be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
149
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Had a great time at The Lookout! Dave and Liz run a lovely guest house, and are very helpful with walks/hikes and other suggestions. Really enjoyed our stay--everything was clean and cheerful, the food was great, and the views truly are magnificent!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011 via mobile

I picked this B & B for the amazing modern design throughout featured on their website and when we arrived it was just as described. Dave & Liz the owners completely refurbished the place a couple of years ago and it is lovely.

We stayed in room 2 for 4 nights over Easter and had a great stay. The room was very nice with it's own balcony & view of Latrigg fell, a great power shower & modern bathroom with mod cons like LCD TV & hairdryer.

We caught taxis into town which were a bargain compared to Bournemouth! £3 into town, £4 on the bank hol mon. However it's a pleasant walk along the old railway path to stagger home after a meal out.

The breakfasts were delicious with loads of choice. A cooked breakfast really set us up for a day on the fells.

Dave recommended walks to us (thanks) we loved the walk up Great Gable! (Rich not so keen)!

I can't wait to visit again soon.

Les & Rich

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stayed for two nights at The Lookout B&B on Chestnut Hill in Keswick. Firstly the views across Keswick with the panoramic of Skiddaw through to Bassenthwaite and across towards Grassmoor, were fantastic - to experience this most independently you should reserve room one - although the breakfast room, outside terrace, and garden all offer this view. We stayed in room two, which includes a cute little terrace which, although overlooks the (very handy and spacious) car park, does offer to the left a great view of Latrigg.

The room itself was excellent - spacious, smart, spotlessly clean, and plentifully appointed. The bed is large, comfy and perfect after a day's walking. The newly installed silent fridge was a handy addition for keeping both our bottle of bubbly and duo of creme eggs chilled. The bathroom is large and well equipped with a very fine shower oblong. Other notable additions were a nice LCD TV with freeview, good range of tea/coffee, smart decour (if that's your thing), nice toiletries.

Breakfast was also excellent; plenty of choice, none of which you could argue would be wrong. I had poached egg atop beans on toast for the first morning (note: you get plenty of beans!), and my girlfriend had two boiled eggs with toast (which she quickly sliced into soldiers). Second morning I went for full english, my girlfriend the poached egg with mushrooms and beans. The customary cereals were available, along with a big pot of tea, some fresh fruit salad, and a rack of toast. Cannot be faulted, especially when coupled with the aforementioned view.

A quiet night sleep on both nights was greatfully received - the situation of roughly 15-20 mins walk from the town centre meaning any late night traffic or drinkers was not an issue.

Finally both Dave and Liz offered a warm and accommodating welcome both when we arrived and throughout the stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Well what a find! Wonderful views, decor, comfort, service and food. I struggle to find anything to "moan" about, my only little gripe is that I would have liked a biscuit with my coffee while sitting on the balcony in the afternoon? Would defintely recommend and return again in the future.
Cabs were a little pricey into town, £4 and £5.50 - but it was a bank holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Lookout & the name says one of the main things that makes this place so special. We were lucky enough to have fantastic weather which made the stay extra special. We stayed in Room 1 on the top floor which has French doors that open into the room & offer miles of magnificent views. The weather was so good we had the doors open during the day time "looking out" onto the beautiful gardens & surrounding hillsides. The owners couldn't have been more helpful having loads of knowledge of the area. The breakfasts were plentiful & cooked to perfection. I could go on & on & still wouldn't feel I was praising The Lookout & the warm, friendly atmosphere enough! We will go back again & again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington Lancs
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I am way over due adding this review but since we stayed at The Lookout we use this as our benchmark. The Lookout is stylish, classical and comfortable with stunning views. Set in a great spot just out of the town centre. It really was home from home with smart rooms (with balcony) and spot on bathrooms, the owners have done a fantastic job and given huge attention to detail. Breakfast was as good as any but the views just made it special. We will be staying again it just a question of when we can fit it in......

Room Tip: just go you will be very happy you did
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lookout Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Keswick

Address: Chestnut Hill, Keswick CA12 4LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lookout Keswick 4*
Also Known As:
The Lookout Keswick Hotel Keswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lookout Keswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Lookout Keswick to your Saves list