We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorchester House

Dorchester House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dorchester House to your Saves list
Dorchester House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   17 Southey Street, Keswick, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Hatfield, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My 2 friends and I were booked at this perfect little B&B during a 3-day bus tour around the Lake District. We were given the family room which was comfortable with a bed for each of us. For breakfast, I had the delicious Full English Breakfast which was made even more delicious with Annie's own homemade jam!

Annie and Dennis are the friendliest and most patient B&B proprietors that I've ever encountered. I felt like I was being taken care of by my Mum :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south shields
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have just returned fro Keswick after a 2 day break and again stayed at Dorchester House. I had stayed there last August on my own for a couple of nights when I went over to Keswick walking. This time it was with my partner and my brother and his wife. Anne and Dennis are very welcoming and the breakfasts are fabulous - so much choice and nothing is a bother to them. They run the place very efficiently though and breakfast is to a tight schedule of 8.30 to 9am only - they had to knock some guests up out of bed as they were a few minutes late! This time our room was on the 2nd floor (I had previously stayed in the single room on the first floor) and to be honest it could have done with a bit of TLC. Although the bedding, towels etc are spotless the room itself was rather dusty in places and the toilet was electric and rather noisy on each flush. However, all in all I would recommend Dorchester House, very good value for money, centrally situated and very homely welcome from the owners.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIngley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We booked into this lovely B&B with friends who had stayed here previously. Anne and Dennis made us all feel very welcome. The bedrooms were recently decorated, very tasteful and spotlessly clean! Breakfast is the best quality we've ever had in a guesthouse. Fresh fruit, well cooked breakfast and even homemade jam! We were all well set-up for a day's walking! Couldn't recommend the Dorchester House highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at the Dorchester House for the New Year weekend where we were warmly welcomed by Anne and Dennis. Our room was clean, very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent, serving local produce with a personal touch. Ideal central location with easy, flat, short walk to shops/bars. Lovely house, lovely hosts, hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham,England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Booked at the last minute, this B&B turned out to be a little gem. Warm, spotlessly clean, welcoming, with lovely hosts Anne and Dennis who looked after so well while still offering that freedom that if seldom seem when staying in a small B&B. Not so small really, the Dorchester is a beautiful house retaining its old style charm and quality. The breakfasts are also the best I have had in any B&B in Keswick and we have been going there for many many years!
A big thank you to the owners for a lovely New Year break - will certainly be back this year.

Room Tip: Book early I imagine, we were in a smaller room but could see some of the others which looked very i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winteringham
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The second time we've stayed here this year, Ann & Dennis again were very welcoming and friendly, very clean rooms all with tea & coffee making facilities and good breakfast, very close to town centre, would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I have stayed many times at Dorchester House and feel I should tell everyone what a gem of a B&B it is. Beautifully decorated and comfortable beds/rooms, a tasty and very well presented breakfast sets you up for a day in the hills.
Dennis & Ann are extremely friendly & welcoming with lots of hints and advice on how to enjoy your stay in the Lakes to the full.
I always look forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: All rooms that I have used are of the same high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorchester House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorchester House

Address: 17 Southey Street, Keswick, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorchester House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dorchester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorchester House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.