We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spotlessly clean and comfortable B&B run by friendly and helpful owners.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burnside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burnside B&B
Save
You added Burnside B&B to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
£99 p/p 3 nights B&B
Ranked #5 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lesmahagow, Scotland
1 review
“A spotlessly clean and comfortable B&B run by friendly and helpful owners.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

The accomodation was excellent, very clean and comfortable with friendly owners. Two members of our party are vegans and were catered for without any problem. Burnside is in a quiet situation a short walk from the town and parking was available nearby.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
352
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We recently spent 3 nights at Burnside and can't say enough about our experience. Sharon and Pete were very friendly and very helpful, the breakfast was excellent and the bed very comfortable. We highly recommend their B&B. We even enjoyed the 10-15 minute walk into town for our evening meal, despite the rain! Keswick is a nice town and a good place to use as a base for touring the Lake District.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Alberta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Our family of four enjoyed a relaxing and stress free stay at Burnside B & B. Our hosts were very knowledgable of the surrounding Lake District area and beyond. They simply outdid themselves to be helpful; we had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. From breakfast to the extra little touches in the room, it was all wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

for a warm and friendly welcome from Sharon and Peter.
Very clean and comfortable accommodation plus good choice and variety of well prepared breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed here for two nights whilst on a walking/activity based weekend break in Keswick. The B&B was easy to find and parking on a nearby street was plentiful. Inside the house was warm & friendly, spotlessly clean throughout and we felt very much at home once welcomed by Sharon. We stayed in room 3 which was small but perfectly formed and once again immaculately clean, with a few extra touches you'd not normally expect from a B&B (good quality complimentary toiletries, current magazines, flat screen TV, bone china for tea/coffee) and a good view to the hills. We've stayed in a lot of B&B's and hotels for work and felt the decor in this place was just lovely. Breakfast did not disappoint- good quality ingredients cooked well and a wide range of choices to suit all. Sharon also put together some packed lunches for us at short notice on both days which we really appreciated. It's a 15minute walk into the centre of Keswick following the river where there are plenty of good pubs and eateries to explore. Overall a fantastic experience, we would love to have stayed longer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

I was travelling with a friend spending two days in Keswick. It's a family run B&B and you feel the warmth and care from the moment you step through the door (and on the phone too, if like us, it was the first time visiting and needed some suggestions on travel). The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the town centre and in very good conditions: spacious clean room. Perhaps a bit noisy on the road side so if that bothers you ask for a room on the other side. Breakfast was home made and amazing, and the feel of the place is great. They even hand-drew us a map of a hike we wanted to do as they'd run out of printed ones. We had a lovely time and will come back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We enjoyed our stay in Burnside B&B very much! The room was beautifully decorated and very clean. We were given a very warm welcome by Sharon upon arriving. We only stayed one night, but we would have loved to stay longer. Breakfast was very good, especially the srcumptious Belgian waffles with fruit compote.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burnside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Address: Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fair trade refreshment trays. We also apart from traditional full English breakfasts offer. Vegi English /homemade sausages Home made waffles & toffee sauce with banana & sultanas Smoked salmon + either scrambled or poached free range eggs Omelettes & much more. All can be Gluten free please ask when booking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burnside B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.