We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy November Nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burnside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burnside B&B
Save
You added Burnside B&B to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
£99 P/PERSON 3 NIGHTS B+B
Ranked #7 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy November Nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent 2 nights at this superb B&B along with friends and agree with everyone else's comments, warm cosy rooms even on a cold November night, everywhere spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and a superb breakfast. Sharon and her husband should be justifiably proud at what they have achieved at this establishment. When we are in the area again we will definitely be staying at Burnside

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi Susan,

Many thanks for taking the time to post us a lovely review.
It was a huge pleasure to meet you all & hope when you decide to have a break in the lakes again you will give us a call.
I was so pleased you had fantastic weather so you were able to enjoy you're lovely walk back from Borrowdale also.
Thank you once again & hope you all have a fantastic Christmas.

Best Wishes,

Sharon.xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
339
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We spent one night at this lovely B&B during the October half term. We were very late in making arrangements, and struggled to find a B&B in Keswick which could accommodate our family of four boys aged 6 to 14 as well as my wife and I. To be honest, I hadn't noticed that the owners didn't usually cater for children under 10, but on booking over the phone Sharon was quite up front about it, and I promised best behaviour from our boys, and she very graciously allowed us to book 2 rooms, a family (double plus sofa bed) and a king sized double (rooms 2 and 4). We were warmly welcomed, and Sharon helped us out with making the arrangements for breakfast.

After we were settled, Sharon knocked at the door to let us know that her husband was concerned that we might have left our internal lights on in our car, parked just across the road at ElevenTrees. Indeed it was ours, and we were very grateful for this attention which might have severely disrupted our plans the next day! Just the sort of personal touch that an excellent B&B can provide!

Both rooms were beautifully appointed, in excellent condition, and were very comfortable. The younger boys were delighted to see the teddies on the two beds! Hopefully our young boys appeared on their best behaviours; we had done our best to wear them out during the day to try to ensure a peaceful night for all!!

With an extensive range of breakfasts available, we all chose the excellent cooked breakfasts, each made to order (why my boys don't all like the same things, I'll never know!) and at breakfast we all tucked in heartily in the cosy dining room.

It was a shame we could only spend one night in the Lakes as we loved our stay here, and would highly recommend the Burnside to any friends or relatives looking to stay in Keswick.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Hi Matt, Mum & delightful Boys,

It was a huge pleasure to meet you your wife & your 4 tittle men & I was so pleased you did pick up the phone & book with us.
It's great to be able to help you all even if it was just for one night after you all had done a full day out on Catbells.I hope your biking day was fun for you all in Winlatter it's such a great place to take kids.

Thank you so much for all your fantastic feedback it really helps & yes I didn't hear a squeak for your adorable boys once & please will you tell them thank you so much .

It would be lovely to see you all again if you need a room for some tired little heads to sleep for a few nights & thank you once again. Good luck with the athletics.

Very Best Wishes to you all,

Sharon.xxxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Just spent 2 nights at Burnside - my husband, myself, my teenage son and my mum in rooms 2 and 4. This B&B is lovely - spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Sharon is super friendly and efficient with a sparkling smile. Breakfasts are great - particularly the homemade waffles with toffee sauce, bananas and raisins - and the breakfast room itself has a wood burner that makes it really warm and cosy. The rooms are spacious, warm and immaculate with very comfy beds and quality bedding. Each room has its own resident teddy that has changed its pose each time you come back to your room in the evenings - I think this may be Sharon - a lovely homely touch! I heartily recommend Burnside to everyone and we will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 4 are the largest and face the front onto the main road. Room 2 has a quality sofa bed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, November 2, 2014
Hi Wendy,

Many thank's for such a lovely review it does mean so much to us thank you.
I'm so pleased you enjoyed the choice of breakfasts I offered you especially the waffles while sitting round the lovely wood burner.
Thank you for saying my home is spotless as I take pride to always make sure it is.
Hope you all had a great time together & next time you get the chance I hope you will call again.

Best Wishes,

Sharon.xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Just returned from a lovely stay at Burnside. I cannot praise this place enough, Sharon is lovely and extremely helpful. Our room was perfect , extremely clean and cosy , best nights sleep I've had in a while. Breakfast was spot on . Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, November 2, 2014
Hi Sparkles,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a very lovely review.
It was my pleasure to make your stay enjoyable & many thank's once again for choosing to stay here.
I really hope I can meet you both again when you get the time to come up here again , don't work too hard hope to see you soon.

Best Wishes,

Sharon.xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

lwe spent 3 nights as a last minute break in the lakes and stayed at burnside b+b. We loved our stay- home from home and very welcoming, would highly recomend it. lovely large, clean, warm, cosy room, with en-suite shower room. large comfortable bed and a lovely teddy to welcome as a finishing touch!, Sharon and Peter were very friendly and accomodating hosts, very clean and lovely decor with a nice warm log burner in the breakfast lounge. range of cooked breakfasts on offer, the full english was delicious and the full veggie included delicious homemade veggie sausages! as well as good selection of cereals. Useful information about driving tours/ routes/ places to visit as we had'nt planned any of our trip as it was last minute. Hosts really went out their way to please without being intrusive and we were able to leave our bikes in the garden to save hiking them around when not being used.15 mins walk to town centre/ 5 mins by bike
Would definitely reccomend it!!!!

Room Tip: we asked for the larger double which was lovely and spacious but still warm and cosy with independen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Hi you two,
A huge thank you for writing us a fantastic review you are very kind.
I'm so pleased you enjoyed all the help I gave you both with everything including the driving/ walking tips.Hope you enjoyed Ullswater after you left here there's so much to see & never enough time.
Once again thank you for saying it was like coming back home because that's what I want my guests to feel like.
It was a huge pleasure to meet you both & hope you get the time to visit us again soon.

Best Wishes,

Sharon.xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Just been to Keswick for the weekend and stayed at The Burnside B&B.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it. The Burnside is about 5-10 minute walk from the main town. It was spotlessly clean. The room was a very good size with a ensuite shower room. Lovely white fluffy bath towels that smelt lovely, which is a strange thing to say but to me that is a sign of cleanliness.

Sharon the hostess was lovely and gave us many tips on where to go and what to do. Her breakfasts were amazing and kept us going all day.

Cannot fault this B&B and cant wait to return which we are doing for a short break for News Years Eve.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Good morning Donna,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review . It does mean so much to us when our guests are happy with everything we have to offer here at Burnside.

Hope you've found all the best places to go & eat on your next visit with us & hope I was of help with that.

Looking forward to welcoming you both again very soon.

Best Wishes,

Sharon.xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

What can I say that hasn't already been said about Sharon, Peter and the Burnside? Suffice it to say that this is my first choice when visiting the entire lake district. Friendly, clean, tidy and not a faceless hotel that you can often find.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gentilis, Owner at Burnside B&B, responded to this review, October 25, 2014
Hi Paul,

Thank you so much for yet another great review.
It's always a pleasure to see you & hope you can get the time to visit us again soon,
Hope you got some great pictures on this visit, I'll may be see them next time you call.

Best Wishes,

Sharon & Pete.xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burnside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnside B&B

Address: Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharon & Peter Garner look forward to welcoming you to their 4 Star B&B 1 mile / 10-15 minutes stroll from Keswick's Market Square; where traditional cosy hospitality complimented by hotel standard bedrooms & breakfasts at B&B prices. Burnside has been refurbished to a high standard reflected by our 'Excellent' Tripadvisor Award. All our meticulously clean en-suite bedrooms have flat screen TVs, thermostatically controlled heating, complimentary, towels toiletries and Fairtrade refreshment trays. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burnside B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.