We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Square Orange Cafe Bar

The Square Orange Cafe Bar
20 St. John's Street, Keswick CA12 5AS, England
+44 17687 73888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 116 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Devon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrible service...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stopped off for a bite of lunch and a coffee today, there were 4 customers in the cafe and 2 staff, one was making drinks and the other(long haired, larger girl) spent the majority of the time on the phone. I went to the counter to order and was asked to wait as the girl was busy making a couple of drinks. We waited for ten minutes and the other girl eventually came off the phone, still waiting she ignored us even when we gave up our seats for a family of 4 (there was only 2 of us sat at a four seater table) all she could talk about was her hair?? Another 5 or 10 minutes past and still no service so we left. 20 minutes wait to be ignored - a disgraceful service, the owners need to be a bit savvy of their staff (long haired girl) or they may find people will not return, we most certainly won't.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    68
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
keswick
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“intimate, great pizzas, nice ambience a true cafe/bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Square Orange provides a refreshing change from the oaked beamed bitter Lamb Henry pubs of the rest of Kewsick. In the daytime it is just the best place to read today's paper and enjoy a great coffee and tuck into a slice of a locally made chocolate cake (usually baked the previous day). By night it is a true bar with a fine array of wines, continental beers and spirits. It's pizzas are by far the best in Keswick being handmade, simple and tasty beyond belief.
It is located just off the Market Square opposite the Red Fort curry house. It is frequented by the bohos of Keswick who are a strange mixture of theatre staff, social workers/teachers, local business types, retirees, guest house owners, artists, chess and backgammon players, musicians and dog lovers (who are welcome with their owners). The atmosphere of the place is relaxingly lively with accoustic music on certain nights and you will not be surprised to know that the owner is a former tenor who will sing for you if you ask!
This place is not to be missed.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, where you can chill out and relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We have previously visited, which is why we returned again whilst in the area. We have found the place to have a relaxing atmosphere where you can just chill out. There are plenty of options available, they sell lovely tasting coffee and cake if you like a day time break. During the evening it is a pleasant no frills place that serve tapas and pizza, we found they serve a good variety of tapas, which makes a change from the usual meals available in the town. On top of the food they also have a good selection of real ales, lager and other drinks.
We found the staff to be efficient and pleasant, although not over friendly. Would we visit again? yes

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Customers expected to provide a pet sitting service for the errant owner.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I have been to this café several times, up until now it has been one of my favourite in Keswick though my experience on my last visit has left me somewhat disgusted with the level of service and hospitality extended towards its customers.

We went into the café to have a quiet coffee and a slice of cake, we were not expecting spend the entire time we were there looking after the owners pet while it sat next to our table begging for food.

I do not have a problem with dogs being in a café though I do take exception to the fact that it was just left to wander and beg from whoever was eating, no attempt was made to restrain it and no apology was made for it being stood begging at our table for around 20 mins.

I mentioned to the waitress while we were leaving that I was not happy about it, she said that the dog actually belongs to the owner of the café. I would have thought that if the owner of the café was going to leave his dog he would have the common sense to restrain it or at the very least put a bed in the shop for it to sleep on.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“just had a great evening here, lively good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

lovely plae for a glass of wine or a beer, has a real cafe bar feel to it, i've been many times when we have been up in Keswick, it's not smart but it has atmosphere and friendly staff and is busy adn bussling

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Square Orange Cafe Bar also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Square Orange Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Square Orange Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.