We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay while in the Lake District” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Salisbury Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Salisbury Guesthouse
Save
You added The Salisbury Guesthouse to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle, UK
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay while in the Lake District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Very well appointed b&b. Near enough to Keswick for 5 min walk in, but far enough out for quiet. Peter is an excellent host. Breakfasts cooked to offer. Great selection of DVDs for early nights. Not the cheapest B&B but very good value as more like a hotel. Would definitely return

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for the review Geordiegirl_8! We try to run Salisbury Guesthouse as a place we would like to stay in ourselves and one of the biggest reasons we bought it (only a year ago) was the location. As you say, we are very close to the town centre but are still in a quiet location. Best wishes from Peter and Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
88
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Convenient, friendly, cosy and immaculate little guest house for a perfect stay in The Lakes. Our hosts Peter and Alex made our stay perfect in every way from a warm, friendly greeting, a lovely clean and comfortable room with great views, a delicious hearty breakfast and a headful of local knowledge to help us on our way. Couldn't ask for more. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Just back from Spain and stayed 2 days at The Salisbury in Keswick en route to Aberdeen, Scotland. Peter is an informative and welcoming host who even went was far as lending me a rain jacket on a rather wet night as we weren't prepared for the weather! The Salisbury is set in a nice location a few hundred yards from the town centre with easy parking outside. Keswick is probably the most dog friendly village I have ever encountered and Peter was more than happy to let our Yorkie share our room in the premises. A top quality breakfast sets you up for the day made with fresh local produce from the area, simply divine! Peter, you are a lovely man, and we hope to return to your abode in the future, Vic and Janette,

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Well behaved dogs are always welcome here and thank you for your lovely review. Keswick as you noticed is VERY dog friendly and if we can accommodate well behaved dogs then great. Hope your journey home was effortless and indeed while you were here the weather was a bit non Spain like! Big thank you to you both from all here at Salisbury House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maasmechelen
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

It was in February last year that my girlfriend and I stayed in Salisbury Guesthouse for the first time. We didn't knew what to expect because it was the first year that the B&B was open and it was also the first year for Alex and Peter to run a B&B. But my god, after our first stay we couldn't believe this was true. Everything was perfect.
Because my girlfriend and I fell in love with the area and also much more in love with each other because of the perfectness of everything we decided to come back. And knowing that something is everything you want it to be, we decided to go back to Salisbury Guesthouse.
Now, during our second stay we discovered what the secret recipe is of Salisbury Guesthouse.

It's simply the relationship between Alex and Peter. They are the definition of the concept Bed & Breakfast. It's Peter who deals with the 'bed' side of the B&B and he does this superb! Showing the rooms with a lot of enthusiasm, explaining in a clear way how everything works and he makes you feel like home for every minute you are there. Also from the moment you enter the Guesthouse till the moment you leave Peter is always there to answer any question you have, nothing is too much of an effort for him.
But hold on, there is a 'breakfast' side to a B&B too. And than there is Alex, the master of the kitchen! Even when the Guesthouse is fully booked and there are 9 persons for breakfast at the same time, he manages on his own to get every plate out on time. And not just out on time, every plate looks stunning and tastes superb!! You could name any kind of egg you want, Alex pulls it of with ease to cook it for you. He makes sure you will never leave the Guesthouse hungry when going for a long walk to the beautiful mountains of Keswick.
So Alex and Peter are a great team.But apart from the 'bed' and 'breakfast' side they are also very lovely people to be with.

Yes, this B&B has it all. After our second visit my girlfriend and I are sure that we will keep on coming to Salisbury Guesthouse. So Alex and Peter, can we get a lifelong booking for Salisbury Guesthouse please? :)

Lots of greetings and keep up the amazing work guys!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
It was lovely to see you both again and thank you so much (again) for reviewing us. Glad we have converted you to proper bacon, poached eggs and Cumberland sausages! Seriously though, thank you for returning so soon, it is the biggest compliment we can get. Hope to see you both again and no problem on the lifetime booking! :-) Very best wishes to you both from Peter and Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just stayed the one night as I was attending my daughters 30th birthday party in Keswick. The welcome that Peter gave us was warm and informative. The rooms were immaculate. Breakfast was delicious and so well presented. By far the best guest house I have stayed in Keswick.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
It was a pleasure to look after you both and thank you for your lovely post on here. Peter and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Only stayed the one night on a long overdue return to Keswick. Peter was brilliant from point of booking to departure. We got the larger room as we knew we wouldn't be up for a big night out and made use of the selection of 200 DVDs available whilst planning the next day using the wide selection of information books/ maps of the area. In the end the weather put us off these plans, but followed Peter's recommendation and we were so pleased we did! The room was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. Breakfast had pretty much everything that you would expect; continental and cooked available.We were able to keep bikes in locked area too.
Thank you so much for making our short stay so lovely!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thanks Rachel. One of the reasons we bought this place was the potential to store sports equipment as Keswick if a place where activity is everything whether it be walking, cycling etc. We built the DVD collection of classic films to provide an alternative to a night out and it has indeed proved very popular. Hope all is well with you too from all at Salisbury House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Right in the heart of Keswick City centre, this B&B is one of the best places that I have stayed with my family.

The breakfast is cooked by a chef and, is superb and wonderfully cooked. The room where we stayed was pretty good in size and nicely done.

But the best part of this place is it's owner Peter - he is the guy that makes the difference and makes Salisbury stand out. Peter is an extremely amazing host, with loads of local knowledge that he makes sure to share with all his guests. He is a very warm person with an helpful attitude. After staying here and meeting him it is easy to understand why this B&B has a 5 star rating within the first year of its existence!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Many thanks Raj. We are very pleased you (and family) had a good time here. We built our library/info centre to make it as easy as possible for people to get the most out of their visit to Keswick and the surrounds. If we in the meantime can provide you with a good place to stay then great for us too! Thank you for your kind words. All at Salisbury House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Salisbury Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury Guesthouse

Address: 36 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salisbury House is a modern boutique style Guest House, two minutes walk from the centre of Keswick. Our rooms are of a high standard to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The en-suites have quality fittings and are particularly large in our suite and triple room and our showers are guaranteed to give an invigorating start to the day. The cooked breakfasts are all made using locally sourced produce and while they are cooking you can enjoy a good selection of fresh fruit salad, toast and preserves and cereals. We presently have a secure area for bikes (off street) and offer have a number of boot warmers/dryers. Dogs with prior arrangement. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salisbury Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.