We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great b&b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Salisbury Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Salisbury Guesthouse
Save
You added The Salisbury Guesthouse to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great b&b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We spent two nights in Keswick in the Lake District,with our family at Salisbury guest house. Peter the owner was welcoming and had a natural ability to be friendly and warm . The guest house is efficiently run , clean an tidy. The breakfast was really nice . His attention to the smooth running of the guest house and making us feel comfortable made the stay a very enjoyable one , we look forward to returning. Hopefully we see some blue sky next time!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We really enjoyed looking after you all and look forward to welcoming you all again. Let us know the dates and we will put in a request for a span of blue sky days with the met office! Best wishes, Peter and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
88
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent two nights in Keswick,in the Lake District, at Salisbury guest house. Peter, our host, was extremely helpful in recommendations and info about the area. The guest house is beautiful, spotless and modern. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. His attention to every little detail really made the stay a 5 star experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Many thanks for posting a review and for your kind comments about Salisbury House. We do try to make sure you have as good a stay with us as possible and it is fantastic to know you did. All the very best to you all. Peter and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed over the bank holiday weekend with our Dog. The B&B just a few minutes walk to the town centre. We were greeted on arrival by Peter who showed us to our room.

Downstairs there is a library, including of walking books and map and a DVD library. Our room was on the top floor and was very clean with an en-suite, usual facilities provided such as kettle, coffee making facilities and nice clean towels and bedding.

Very close to the town centre and can be easily walked in 5 minutes.

Breakfast was great, there was a choice of juice, toast, yoghurt's and fresh fruit every morning as well as a full English breakfast which was particularly good.

We celebrated our 1st anniversary over the weekend and were given a little present from Peter which was very thoughtful :o).

Peter provided us with many tips with activities to do over the weekend and they were well appreciated and helped us plan our weekend perfectly.

Will certainly book again when we return to Keswick!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your review of Salisbury House and the detailed comments you made. It is nice for us to know you enjoyed your stay here. We aim for the relaxed, efficient approach and knowing guests have a nice time here makes it all worthwhile. All the best to you both (and the dog) and Happy Anniversary! Peter and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A really lovely B&B just a few minutes walk to the town centre. Peter, our host, greeted us on arrival and showed us the ropes. There's an extensive library, including heaps of walking books and maps, and an even larger DVD library if you find yourself there in typical Lake District weather. Our room was clean with a large ensuite; nice touches included top notch hand cream / body wash and luxurious, beautiful smelling towels. Usual tea/coffee making facilities (how about adding a decaf option?).

Although close to the town centre it wasn't noisy at all and had a great night's sleep. Breakfast was extensive, with fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals, as much toast as you like and a truly great fry up. Excellent produce (the bacon and sausage particularly good) expertly cooked.

Peter is a great front of house host; informative whether it's regarding where to eat in town or where to go during the day and just attentive enough without being overbearing. I'm sure Alex was doing a cracking job in the background.

Will certainly book again if we're back in Keswick - and thanks for the little treat on leaving.

Room Tip: Front of building has great views of Skiddaw but may be a tad more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for that lovely review. Well we took on board your decaf suggestion in the rooms and it is flying out the door so thanks for that! We also do Earl Grey as a request option. It is good to have feedback for us to gauge where we can tweak and make improvements. We very much enjoyed having you here and you would be welcome anytime. Alex and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Booked this little gem as a very late booking over May bank holiday for one night.
Based choice on web page,availabilty and a more than reasonable price.
Made enquiry via e-mail and a swift response from Alex asked me to call (though late @ 11.p.m.) to confirm booking and any extra requirements.
Alex could not have been more polite and helpful.
Though check-in normally at 4 p.m. he agreed an earlier check in at 1 p.m.

Upon arrival we received a warm welcome from Peter and Alex and offered assistance with our luggage.
Peter was very attentive - nothing too much trouble.
Our attic room was clean and comfortable.
Shower room some might consider a little on the tight side but was clean.
Tea & coffee facilties were replenished quickly and even biscuits were replenished.

Next morning - the highlight.....the cooked breakfast was absolutely delicious,well presented and the little extra treat to round off our final breakfast was a lovely and very nice gesture.

Parking at busy bank holidays is a lottery in the area,but we managed with a little patience.

All in all a pleasant stay with friendly and attentive hosts...and the best cooked breakfast in Keswick!

WELL DONE ALEX AND PETER

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. I am glad we could help out on a one night weekend stay (as I know they are not easy to find) but we like to help out if we can so it is always worth a call to see if we have late availability. Glad you liked the breakfast :-) Alex and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels and B&B's due to work/pleasure, but the Salisbury really is a little gem. Keswick; and the lakes, is swamped with B&B's but there is only one we will stay at from now on. I really can't fault it, spotless inside with a great attention to detail. Very homely, comfortable beds, cracking breakfasts. Quiet location but only a 2 minute work into the centre. Books, maps, guides, DVD's ....all to borrow. Peter is a great host and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is great to know you enjoyed your stay here as it makes our work all the more worthwhile. We enjoyed having you here too. All the best to you both. Peter and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Salisbury a few weeks ago - 7 of us on a weekend away. The attention to detail was amazing - we were really well cared for and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are beautifully clean and styled well. The bathrooms are fantastic. Very thick cosy towels and comfy beds. Breakfast was great and the little treat on the morning you leave was a lovely touch. Our hosts really enjoy being hospitable and sharing their home with their guests. Top recommendation!!!

Room Tip: All were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Owner at The Salisbury Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you very much for those nice comments. It's great to hear you like Salisbury House and indeed we enjoyed having you all here. Hope all is well with you all. Alex and Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Salisbury Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salisbury Guesthouse

Address: 36 Blencathra Street, Keswick CA12 4HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Salisbury Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salisbury House is a modern boutique style Guest House, two minutes walk from the centre of Keswick. Our rooms are of a high standard to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The en-suites have quality fittings and are particularly large in our suite and triple room and our showers are guaranteed to give an invigorating start to the day. The cooked breakfasts are all made using locally sourced produce and while they are cooking you can enjoy a good selection of fresh fruit salad, toast and preserves and cereals. We presently have a secure area for bikes (off street) and offer have a number of boot warmers/dryers. Dogs with prior arrangement. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salisbury Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.