We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the cow pie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
George Hotel
Save
You added George Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   St Johns Street | 3, Keswick CA12 5AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Blyth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Try the cow pie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

We did not stay at this hotel but we did have an evening meal here.We went for a drink the night before and saw them turning diners away they were so busy, so we booked for the next night. We had heard about their famous COW PIE so we both had a half portion at just under £10. each.It is excellent value for money as it was massive, i dont know who could eat a full portion, it was packed with large chunks of melt in the mouth beef with jellied gravy about 2.5" thick. We saw people eating the fish and chips or should i say whale and chips. We would definately return for another meal here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    48
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
69
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Have stayed in the George before and enjoyed the stay and especially the food - but this time the food was BAD. When asked why we were told they had changed their suppliers. This reflected in the quality of the food. I understood that they used Woodall's of Waberthwiate before and then the food was of a high quality - especially the belly pork but now it was very inferior. In future we will look elsewhere to eat and would not recommend it to anyone.
John

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Hotel with plenty of character, with central location in Keswick. Food and service were OK (we only sampled breakfast) We thought that it was overpriced in view of the scabby TV in our room, no bath, no hairdryer. However, overall fine for a short weekend break.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

our stay at the George was very pleasant. The service was very good , room was spacious and very clean,breakfast was excellent nice to be served at the table. The restaurant meals were excellent. The position of the hotel was central without being too rowdy. We parked the car and did not move it for the three days plenty to do in Keswick. Take a walk to castle head about 20 mins from the hotel What a veiw for only a little effort.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

The George is a very old coaching inn and in many respects looks as it did when I last stayed there 40 years ago. The bedrooms and dining room have been recently (2009?) refurbished in a modern style but the doors, windows floors etc remain 'olde world' - that is don't fit, not level etc. The Car park is small and can be crowded but we always found a spot during our stay. The back door entrance is in need of TLC. but was, like the rest of the hotel clean.

We found the bed comfortable, new thick white towels, the room warm (Cold March days) and well serviced.

Breakfast was typical English of average(ie what one would expect) quality and served in an efficient and frieldly manner.

We enjoyed the 'table d'hort' menu in the 'restaurant' - the meals were good quality typical 'pub grub' - If we had not been on a DBB deal we may well have agreed with other reviewers about 'overprice' But at say £16- £18 per head for 3 courses (2010 prices) we thought it reasonable value.

The staff were friendly, efficient, helpful and the atmosphere was very relaxed.

All in all a place I could recommend to others -especially if you can get a deal. We paid £41 DBB per head.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Just returned from a weekend here with agroup of friends. Arrived late on Friday evening and parking at the rear of the hotel is limited, however did manage to find the last spot. The hotel is well situated in the middle of Keswick and the room was clean and well presented. The bathroom was adequate, however the shower facility has seen better days, and the water was no better than lukewarm on any occasion.
The bed was apparently only 4 days old, however this did not aid either of us to sleep well whilst there, a situation not helped by the noise of street revellers at all hours of the night. the single glazed windows afforded no protection from this.
We had booked Bed & Breakfast and the breakfast was acceptable although service could best be described as slow ( my wife who has the patience of a saint was nearly moved to approach the staff regarding the lengthy delay in it arriving).
We also dined in the restaurant on the saturday night and were disappointed that our party of 10 could not be seated together(despite confirmation of this on booking months ago), however another group of 10 were accomodated. The food was at best decent pub food, somewhat overpriced, and I would certainly not class it as restaurant quality. The staff whilst mostly civil did not seem to have much of a "can do" attitude.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: St Johns Street | 3, Keswick CA12 5AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.