We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick trip to Keswick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
George Hotel
Save
You added George Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   St Johns Street, Keswick, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Ripon, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quick trip to Keswick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was the third time my partner and I have stayed at The George and have to stay that we love it even more every time we visit.
We stayed in room 4 and couldn't fault it. Plenty of room, spacious very comfy bed and lovely very clean bathroom.
The staff were all young and very polite and helpful. We were made to feel very welcome.
We did not eat at The George as we were going to the theatre but returned later to enjoy an evening in the bar.
After an excellent night's sleep we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast and reluctantly checked out. As we were spending the day in Keswick we were told we could leave the car in their car park until it was time to go home.
To all the staff.. thanks for a wonderful stay.. you all are a credit to the hotel and we both look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    46
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
62
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rainhill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked our stay solely on what we had read from reviews. It was a very enjoyable. All the staff (and management) were so courteous, helpful and efficient. The room (no 2) was more than acceptable with sufficient space to move about quite freely and plenty of storage. The location is first-class and the pub has a lovely atmosphere in the evening with plenty of customers. We ate in on both night and selected very different food, all of which was most tasteful. Breakfasts were scrumptious.
Parking is limited (four allocated bays) but we were lucky to get one adjacent. If there is nowhere to park that is handy don't forget to ask for a permit giving free parking not too far away (refundable deposit required). Luggage can be unloaded/loaded without a problem at the rear of the hotel.
We will return in early Spring and hopefully take advantage of the 3 nights for 2 offer.
Alun & Lucy Williams.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We visit here to eat eat everytime we go to Keswick usually twice during the week. The waitresses are lovely and friendly, the food is excellent, and the early deal in the evening is great. Would always recommend this place to eat, a firm favourite of ours. They also had no problems seating us with 5 adults and a pushchair.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Although we didn't book accommodation at the George Hotel, we had heard about the 'legendary' Cow Pie that this Hotel serves in its downstairs Inn. We were not disappointed.

The atmosphere is wonderful, very busy, and very traditional in style. The service was speedy and friendly, the beer wonderful (Jennings Sneck-lifter) and the famous Cow Pie was in-itself, a reason to visit The George Hotel. All-in-all, heartily recommended after a day on the Lakeland Fells.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

stopped here for a weekend with friends,very good rooms,hotel very clean through out.breakfast was good with thick bacon slices not the usual waffer thin stuff.toaster was the only let down.had an evening meal,1/2cow pie excellent. how anyone can eat a full one is beyond me.the car park is small and but you can park in the town car parks for free with a permit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the George for 2 nights with my partner. Upon arriving very helpful member of staff helped us get parked up at the rear. The rooms were large, comfortable and in-keeping with the hotel. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious and although we didn't have our evening meal at the hotel we did notice how happy diners looked! Wonderful stay and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from three night bed and breakfast break ,and we had a great stay. The George is an old style pub with rooms and offers a nice warm welcome.So here we go, The Room ..we had room 7 which overlooks the street comfy twin beds en suite shower and loo, A dressing table & stool , chair,wardrobe and plenty of drawer space Tea/Coffee .all very nice .slight problem with street noise but nothing too bad.
Food, great breakfast, the full monty or continental, cereals roto toaster,this could set you up for the whole day.
Dinner, good old fashioned "Pub Grub" we tried the half Cow Pie, even the half is a monster stuffed full of tender beef and served with fresh veg..With so many places on offer we only dined on one evening but this is no slight on the George rather the other excellent place we found Negatives? the wine list was a bit expensive for what is after all a boozer.
Bar, lots of choice with 6 different beers from the wood all very good but again a bit pricey and the usual chain brands
On the whole I doubt there is anywhere better to stay in Keswick, Its bang in the middle of the town and even has parking at the back

Room Tip: If like myself your built for comfort rather than speed I would go for a twin room ,the double beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: St Johns Street, Keswick, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Hotel Class:4 star — George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.