We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found a Halal restaurant in Lake District!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Fort Tandoori - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Red Fort Tandoori
5 St. John's Street, Keswick, England
017687 74328
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Found a Halal restaurant in Lake District!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The food was warm and delicious. It's a beautiful place too. The owner of the restaurant was friendly to us. He came by our table, and shared stories. The toilet was very clean. What I don't like about this restaurant though, is that they could not provide us a certificate in black and white that they are providing Halal food. But since they were insisting that they do provide Halal food, and that they are Muslims themselves, we trusted them.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    14
    10
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Not sure how this place has bad reviews, it's brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I love my curries and this place was great - good value, atmosphere and food.

We are tourists and would have happily gone back, not sure how anyone could write a bad review.

Would highly recommend it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hungry just thinking about it......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I've had quite a few meals at the Red Fort over the years, the latest during December 2012. I have never had even the slightest reason to complain about their food, always excellent and just the job after a days walking up & down the Fells. Usually prompt and freindly service, good value and only the occasional prolonged wait, but nothing a bit of patience and a bottle of beer can't cope with. I like the fact they still play traditional music as well. Another plus is that being a fan of a very hot curry, the request for extra chillies, while met with mild suprise, is graciously acknowedged and the lunatic is served with a mouthwatering dish again......got to stop here...starting to dribble....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A good meal ... Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Visited this place on several occasions and always been we served and always felt that I have had good value for money ...

This was New Year's Eve and it was even standard price not New Year Eve rip off prices .

Plenty of space here and you don't think you are sitting on the table next to you with people you have never seen before .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant Atmosphere - Friendly staff and Lovely Meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We visited the Red Fort twice over the New Year break. Both occasions we found the staff to be attentive and the food to be good value. The menu is a little different to the standard Indian fare and we enjoyed trying some new dishes. For the end of a long days walk for a casual meal we found this to be just the place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fort Tandoori also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Fort Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.