We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - will definately go back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babbling Brook Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Babbling Brook Guesthouse to your Saves list
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Wordsworth Street, Keswick CA12 4HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Newcastle
1 review
“Excellent - will definately go back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The host was incredibly welcoming and helpful in every way - from recommending places to eat, to giving directions, to helping plan a fantastic walk for the next day! We turned up quite late and out of the blue on a Saturday evening, yet the welcome could not have been warmer. As for the room - it was a generous size, decor was modern and bed was comfy, there was a TV and kettle with plenty of tea and coffee. The breakfast was very nice, and the food was good quality as well as generous! We arrived there after dark, and so I had such a great surprise in the morning when I opened the curtains to see the view of the mountains and river - that was a treat!! Paul - if you read this, we had a great time heading out towards Gable, (Sprinkling Tarn was frozen solid!) and we hope to come back again some time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    23
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
79
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Babbling Brook in January this year. We were looking for a cheap but nice room in Keswick. The Babbling Brook was lovely inside and out and we were greeted by the owner, Paul, who was a very genuine and friendly person. Our room was cosy, clean and the bed was very comfortable! The breakfast in the morning was great and the B&B was right next to the town. We couldn't have asked for more. We had no criticisms at all and left very happy. We are a young couple but I would recommend this B&B to anyone of any age. Highly recommended for the friendly, comfortable atmosphere and the lovely B&B overall! Perfect. Thank you Paul!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

What a lovely welcoming place Babbling brook is, my wife, myself and 2 friends have just spent the weekend there. The owners couldnt do enough to help. Rooms are well furnished and clean. Food and service was brilliant. Really looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Despite arriving into a very rainy Keswick after a 3 hour drive, our welcome to the Babbling Brook Guesthouse was warm, friendly and welcoming.
With advice about where to visit, eat and drink and only a 5 minute stroll from the main high street, this was the perfect place to stay.
We stayed in room 1, a deluxe room which hosted a stunning view of the mountain and the brook across the road.
The room was large and warm with a sofa and plenty of space.
Breakfast was an excellent full English and in addition cereal, fruit and fresh juice.
The owner also offered to make up a flask for our walk and then dried our wet weather gear on our return. They couldn't do enough for us! Would definitely stay again.
Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is the best guesthouse I've stayed in. It's comfy, clean, modern and the breakfast was excellent. Paul the owner is the nicest guy you'll ever meet. He has so many wonderful tales to tell, all genuinely interesting. This man has been up Everest!! And he's an Ironman!! He is a font of knowledge for the local area and can help you plan whatever activity you're thinking of. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for ensuite I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A lovely B&B. Friendly owners, clean room, comfortable bed, good breakfast and a truly lovely house dog (only allowed in the breakfast room with guests' permission!). Late checkins are no problem too - perfect if you are catching the late train.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked this place last minute after deciding we couldn't face staying at the Travelodge in Carlisle. Paul was very accommodating and we made our way back to Keswick. We were made to feel so welcome and Paul and Angela really have thought of everything! If you need any information, they have it...where to eat, where to walk, the best seats in the pub for stunning views of the beautiful scenery. More importantly, we were made to feel like nothing was too much trouble and Paul's passion for the Lake District is quite infectious!

Our room was lovely. Warm, clean and with a seriously comfortable bed. We had stunning views of Latrigg and Skiddaw and all the facilities we needed - free wifi, tea, coffee, biscuits, plenty of fresh towels and shower gel. Breakfast was great, Cereals, fruit, yoghurt, toast, juice and even Marmite that you can help yourself to, followed by a full English breakfast which was delicious (with eggs made to order, an important point often overlooked by other places).

All in all, a little gem and reasonably priced in a prime location. We really can't believe anyone could have a bad word to say about the place on here. We can't wait to go back! Thanks Paul and Angela.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Babbling Brook Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babbling Brook Guesthouse

Address: 1 Wordsworth Street, Keswick CA12 4HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Babbling Brook Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Babbling Brook Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babbling Brook Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.