We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Gem will Entice You Back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mary Mount Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mary Mount Hotel to your Saves list
Mary Mount Hotel
Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UU, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fantastic Winter offers
Ranked #98 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“This Gem will Entice You Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Enjoyed yet again a two night DB&B stay, as we could not resist the lure of this peaceful idyll. Recommend their low season DB&B offers. They work out very good value, particularly the inclusive 3 course evening meal which is of a high standard and offers plenty of choices. Naturally friendly staff with considerate service. The new split level restaurant, complete with a contemporary two sided log burner, extends the impressive views of the surrounding fells to even more diners, yet successfully retains its cosy ambience. Always nice to take a drink in the oak panelled snug bar with an open fire on return from walking. Lovely they serve refreshments all day. We stayed in the cottage (doggie friendly room 14). Spacious, plenty of storage, clean cotton bed linen and towels, tv etc, consistent supply of piping hot water, shower over bath. Plenty of walks can be taken either along Derwentwater or up onto the fells direct from the Hotel. Lodore jetty is accessible just a few hundred yards from the grounds if you wish to take the Keswick Launch for a cruise or explore Derwentwater/Keswick. Loved the surprise of complimentary bottle of fizz, as it was Valentines week! Left feeling indulged but energised. Warning though, this Gem will entice you back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    70
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
40
152
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The staff were friendly and very helpful. The bedrooms and shower rooms in the new building were outstanding, a beautiful view from room 38, the atmosphere of the hotel was relaxing, lovely dining room with excellent service and food. The position of the hotel was really good for getting out and about walking, catching the local bus etc. An ideal hotel to stay any time of the year. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Worth staying in the newly built accommodation block - finished to a high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Mawdsley_Family, Owner at Mary Mount Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for you kind comments. I'm glad you had a great stay and we all look forward to seeing you at The Mary Mount in the future.

Regards
Charlie Mawdsley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you are looking for a beautiful hotel with a warm, welcoming and incredibly relaxing atmosphere then I recommend this hotel completely. We stayed for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast and I think this is one of the nicest hotel experiences i've ever had. The staff were all very friendly and helpful without being over the top and the hotel was very clean, well kept and with a really comfy bed, which was very welcome when you've been out walking all day. The bar prices were very reasonable and it was worth sitting in the bar to look at the fantastic ceiling, the food was fantastic and the bird feeders outside the restaurant windows were a lovely touch, especially at breakfast when there were an amazing array of birds and also a chart at the table to identify them all. The view of derwent water and the hills from our room was magnificent, we were in room 25 but we were told that room 38 was even better.
We will definately be going back and advise anyone thinking about using this hotel to do the same.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Mawdsley_Family, Owner at Mary Mount Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you. We really welcome your comments. The warm and relaxed atmosphere is something we are trying to promote so we are glad you enjoyed yourselves. We hope to see you again in the near future, perhaps when the weather is warmer and the garden is in full bloom.

Yours sincerely,
Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for four days over the new year and it was fab. Great base for walks and exploring the North Lakes. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the bar/restaurant area is a real asset. I would choose to stay here again if I were in the area

Room Tip: A room with a view of the lake - or ask for a room in the new apartment building as they are a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

What can I say, excellent staff, food and accommodation. From the moment we arrived to the time we left nothing was to much for the staff, whatever we asked for was done at once.
Because we had our dog with us on this trip we were a little concerned, we need to be able to go somewhere that would be able to accommodate him.
The Staff at the hotel went out of there way to make sure not only our stay was good but also our dog, apart from the dinning room the dog could go where he wanted to.
The staff set up a table for us in the lounge for us to have breakfast with our dog, and again of an evening we had him with us in the bar for our evening meal.
Our dog being a greyhound is not the smallest dog, and he has a habit of lying down where he wants. Not once was he made to move, in fact the staff made every endeavour to move around him or even to step over him rather then disturb him.
Being a hotel I was expecting that the food and drinks would be rather more expensive then most places, again this was not the case which again staying there pleasurable.

I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, with or without a dog

Room Tip: If weather permits walk into Keswick along lake side rather then drive or catching the bus in. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

It you're thinking of staying at Mary Mount Hotel, think no further and book. We have just come back from a great five night break. The staff are excellent, the hotel perfect and as for the food perfect. Walks are on the door so you have no excuse to walk of that three course meal - but we warned portions are very, very big! Thank you for a perfect Christmas

Room Tip: Room 38 was perfect - large room and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Having just finished a great walk in Borrowdale, my wife and I went into the Mary Mount for some lunch. First thing to mention is the service - all of the staff we encountered were really polite and friendly, and really made us feel welcome (despite us being in muddy walking gear !).

We both had a baguette platter with chips for lunch (£8.95). The food was great - huge portions, really good quality ingredients, and a nice side-salad. We were both full to bursting by the time we had finished.

The hotel is lovely, with views out across Derwentwater. A very welcome roaring log fire rounded things off nicely. A great visit, and we will definitely be back in future to try more of the menu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mary Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Mount Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mary Mount is a family run hotel, which offers a peacefulcountry house atmosphere. Set in idyllic surroundings onthe shore of Derwentwater in the English Lake District, itis the ideal place to escape life's pressures. So come andenjoy the peace and tranquillity of this friendly hotel.There is ample parking and you can leave the car foryour entire stay if you wish, as there are plenty of walksthat can be done from the hotel, and there is wildlife inabundance all around. The hotel is only yards from theLodore landing stage of Keswick Launch Company whichmaintains a regular service to Keswick and around thelake. There is also a regular bus service.All rooms are en-suite and as you'd expect, have TVand tea/coffee making facilities.With its oak panelled bar, cosy lounge and dining roomwith a panorama towards Derwentwater and Catbells,there is no better place for getting that complete break.Please call or email directly for any last minute offers andbest rates throughout the year.Everyone and their dogs are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mary Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary Mount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.