We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food, poor service but lovely views” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mary Mount Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mary Mount Hotel to your Saves list
Mary Mount Hotel
Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UU, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 181 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible food, poor service but lovely views”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have just returned from a day out in keswick, having visited the restaurant here with our family.
Upon arrival we thought we had hit on a gem of a place with lovely views over the lake and hills. The menu choice seemed ok and the price was enough to pay if the food was good. Unfortunately the food was not good. The chilli con carne we ordered tasted old and was actually inedible, the children's cheese and tomato pasta tasted old and we could not eat it...it was like the ingredients had been frozen for some time and reheated, although the staff refuted this claim. The Thai green curry was edible however unseasoned and very weak...the ham sandwich was ok! Although this was not great it was the challenge we received when we stated these issues...apparently it was not the owner but the owners brother who we spoke to about this and he basically said he did not agree with us...he did knock the food off the bill however he was a little rude and it is not something I expect when a complaint is voiced. Needless to say we shall never return...lovely view though!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    77
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
41
171
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I have just spent two nights at this beautiful hotel, the Mary Mount near Keswick. The Hotel was lovely and we stayed in the new rooms which were plush with fantastic views of the woods and the lake.The grounds were full of wildlife - which was a pleasure to watch. The restaurant was comfortable with excellent quality food and the staff were attentive but not intrusive. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a break away from the hustle and bustle of every day life and feel the price of the hotel and of the meals served in the restaurant are both reasonable and competitive. The Mary Mount is one of those 'finds' that you really don't want to share with anyone else for fear of it being spoiled - but please enjoy your stay - we certainly did.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here in the beginning of May 2012 for three days and it was just lovely. The location is breath taking right off of a lake (I believe Derwentwater). Our room was very nice, located in the cottage behind the main building. It was very roomy, clean, and comfortable. The main restaurant and bar was quaint with great views of the lake. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. We decided to take a walk around the lake our second day there and it was amazingly beautiful. It took us about 4-5 hours to go all the way around including a stop in the town but we asked for a packed lunch provided by the hotel and it was enough to keep us going till we reached the town.

Overall a wonderful experience. I definitely would want to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I have done may reviews on hotels we have stayed, and I always try to be constructive, in what I say. The Mary Mount, is in a beautiful location, just on the shore of Derwentwater, and surrounding mountains ideal for walkers. The staff are friendly, and very polite and helpful, we were given a room for our 2 night in the new rooms, which turned out to be a new build block at the rear of the hotel.
The room was in the centre on the ground floor, and very spacious, warm, with under floor heating, it could have done with a bath, for a long soak after a days walking, but never mind. The down side was it overlooked the car park, and anyone walking passed could look into the room, there was also an issue with the green light on the ceiling at night that lit the whole room up, and we found it a struggle to get to sleep (not the only ones to mention this). Over all the new block wasn`t finished, with wires hanging out of the walls, and working in the Emergency Services, from a Health and Safety point of view, NO FIRES DOORS OR FIRE EXTINGUISHERS, the sign on the back of the door stated about fire safety, and said about using equipment provided to tackle fire if appropriate, and contacting fire service. Unfortunately there were NO PHONES in the rooms, and getting a Mobile Signal in the room was impossible. Looking at the website, it indicates that they should only be fully ready for 18th June, so should people be put in their until fully ready,I don`t know.
Having said that, the block will be very nice when it is finished. We were slightly disappointed with the food, could be better choice, and the Traditional Sticky Toffee Pudding seemed "Gluppy", not the best.
Having Stayed in other Hotels in the area, we felt it was slightly expensive, compared to others. Wouldn `t stop us calling for a drink when passing, but not to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay in the brand new part of the hotel,room 38 which is absolutely fantastic,the breakfast was very nice and we also eat there in the evening this was also good value,
Probably the only gripe we had was breakfast is served 8 till 9 a longer window would be alot better,but you can't have everything hey!!!

Mr Jones Macclesfield

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We could not fault our stay at the Mary Mount Hotel. We stayed in the newly built part of the hotel and our room was beautiful. Our evening meal and breakfast were both excellent enhanced by the beautiful views. Sadly we only stayed one night but we will return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had a two night stay and found the hotel lovely and the setting wonderful. However just a few small touches could make a big improvement. There were no shelves in the bathroom to put bits and pieces and the bathroom smelt fusty. There was also no mirror that could be used in conjucnction with hairdryer/straigenteners. There was a large full length mirror but no plug socket nearby, so the Manager kindly bought us an extension but it was hardly ideal. Food was very nice but not a lot of choice and we thought a little overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mary Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Mount Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mary Mount is a family run hotel, which offers a peacefulcountry house atmosphere. Set in idyllic surroundings onthe shore of Derwentwater in the English Lake District, itis the ideal place to escape life's pressures. So come andenjoy the peace and tranquillity of this friendly hotel.There is ample parking and you can leave the car foryour entire stay if you wish, as there are plenty of walksthat can be done from the hotel, and there is wildlife inabundance all around. The hotel is only yards from theLodore landing stage of Keswick Launch Company whichmaintains a regular service to Keswick and around thelake. There is also a regular bus service.All rooms are en-suite and as you'd expect, have TVand tea/coffee making facilities.With its oak panelled bar, cosy lounge and dining roomwith a panorama towards Derwentwater and Catbells,there is no better place for getting that complete break.Please call or email directly for any last minute offers andbest rates throughout the year.Everyone and their dogs are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mary Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary Mount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.