We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family supper” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Keswickian

Old Keswickian
5-7 Market Square | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5BD, England
017687 73861
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 98 Restaurants in Keswick
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Wigton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family supper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We visited the old keswickian after a swimming trip with our kids,intending to just buy a take away as it's normally easier but my husband had a look at the restaurant upstairs and it looked family friendly so we decided to eat in. Had a really nice fish and chip supper,the atmosphere was cosy and it was very family friendly. The food was well cooked,not at all greasy and there were options of a child's size portion on most meals. We will definitely visit again

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    160
    46
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Famous for fish but try the burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Had an excellent English breakfast here this morning. Quality ingredients including excellent Cumbrian sausage. Decided to visit for evening meal. Great beef burger washed down with a superb bottle of Loweswater Gold ale. Chips that don't get better. Excellent and affable service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips....not a lot else to say”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We looked at a few pubs in Keswick but nothing took our fancy until we noticed this chippy in the centre of town. There is a part where you can sit down but it was packed to the rafters so we opted to get chips and go back to the car out of the rain.

The place isn't cheap but the quality is good. The guys serving seemed a bit on the miserable side, but then I guess frying a chip might not be the most exhilarating of activities!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Miserable staff (Takeaway)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Seeing others coming out of the takeaway got the old taste buds salivating so went in for a portion of chips to sit in the square and share with my wife. Went in - 2 staff just looked at you in query - stated I wanted a portion of chips - came over - took the money - went back to chatting with the fryer. Obviously chips were being cooked but nothing said about this. Finally served, no please or thank you. Chips nice but nothing special but darned expensive, Not the place for a warm welcome

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Cannot fault the meal, we have the pensioners special when we go. Lovely white flaky fish with a light batter cooked right through, spot on chips, bread and butter and a cup of tea. We mainly eat down stairs with good service from a pleasant waitress. Our family were fish and chip shop owners in penrith for nearly fifty years. Experienced review.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Keswickian also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Old Keswickian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Keswickian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.