We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeland Spice

Lakeland Spice
81 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5DT, England
017687 80005
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 113 Restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good Service, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We ate at Lakeland Spice on a recent stay in Keswick and found the service very friendly and efficient. The food was well cooked and well presented with a fantastic Chiili & Garlic Nan bread. We used to eat at the Red Fort but this had gone downhill in recent years and has now closed down. Would thoroughly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    100
    53
    35
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Quite Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I eat curries at least once a week and was desperate for some Indian spice after 10 days on the road. The food here is good. I was hesitant after reading the reviews here but was pleasantly surprised. The only thing that wasn't as good about the food was that it lacked heat. My partner and I love chillies and ordered dishes that promised heat. Failed to deliver esp the dish that is called Naga Chilli yet it wasn't hot at all. Otherwise, we were well satisfied.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

-Excellent food. We ordered a chef's special-type dinner, where we didn't choose our own dishes. Everything was delicious.
-Service is attentive. Sometimes too frequent.
-Weekend nights are CROWDED. But that's a problem everywhere in Keswick.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford le Hope, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Everything about this restaurant was very average except the speed of service which was extremely fast.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Indian food & reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Service, food, atmosphere and drink was good here. If you're after an Indian in Keswick come here, good enough to rival the restaurants in the big cities. Quality Indian food at good prices.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeland Spice also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Lakeland Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeland Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.