We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food but rude staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeland Spice

Lakeland Spice
81 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5DT, England
017687 80005
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 98 Restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food but rude staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have returned to this restaurant a number of times which serves truley beautiful Indian dishes. Normally we are greeted by staff and shown to the table with great pleasure.
Tonight ( a Friday night) we shown to our table and pestered for our order straight away. The table next to us had the cuterly slung at them and did not receive good service.
2 of us had finished out meal and the third was busy eating when a waiter collected our dishes. We thought this was rude as our friend had not finished. When the waiter returned 2 minutes later he picked up my friends salad ( who was visibly munching on her food and removed it. He then picked up her plate whilst she was still eating and only then said ' your finished yeah'. The bill arrived shortly and we were sorting out payment whilst he was hurrying us along. We understand it was busy but if they are fully booked they should not accept bookings and put a dampener on valued customers.
Very sad with the service we received.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    112
    61
    40
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Cant fault this restaurant at all as the food was good but I did think it was rather pricey!

I would return again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa del Sol
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good food, but rude staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was a return visit after 2 years. The food was still good, but there was a mistake on our bill that we queried. There was an immediate and loud exchange of words between the bill taker and our waiter, which made it clear that they thought we were trying to 'pull a fast one'! Eventually, we got a revised and corrected bill, but the attitude of all staff was poor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best curry in Keswick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We went to the lakeland spice without booking on a thursday night in September. Pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and service. Slightly on the pricier side for a curry but I guess it is in a very popular tourist town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Eaten here many times,never had a bad meal yet .Excellent service at all times . If you like Prawns it is not on the menu try cox bazaar lovely

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeland Spice also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Lakeland Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeland Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.