We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeland Spice

Lakeland Spice
81 Main Street, Keswick CA12 5DT, England
017687 80005
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 98 Restaurants in Keswick
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I'd read a few people commenting on how they felt rushed to finish their meal while dining here so was a little apprehensive we were going to have the same experience.

We went mid-week in the evening and it was very, very quiet, so we didn't experience this ourselves... so evidently the above is only the case at peek times. We didn't feel rushed at all.

The restaurant was clean, the staff were there to greet on arrival, and we were seen to promptly. The food was served very quickly; after we finished our starter they asked if we were ready for our main before they brought it out. The food was hot, tasted very nice, and the portion sizes were just right... not too little, not too much.

We were checked on throughout the evening to ensure everything was OK, and that we didn't require anything else, but didn't feel harassed which was nice.

Perhaps a little bit pricey, but it's Keswick, and everything is!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    112
    61
    40
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very good indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A very good indian,pleasant surroundings and helpfull staff,a good and varied menu for takeaway or eat in

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Wary, but no need.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was with a little trepidation that we were visiting this restaurant. We really fancied an Indian meal while staying in Keswick, but none of them have superb reviews.

We decided on this one and held out hope for an average meal.

In fact it turned out to be very nice indeed.

We hadn't booked, not realising how busy it would be on a Saturday night in November, but it was packed. we were sat down with a drink and got a table about 20 minutes later.

We went straight for a main course, I chose and Okra side dish and a Paneer Sag side dish, both were really tasty, well spiced and nicely cooked.

The only downside was the size of the naan bread, it was the size of a tea plate but cost around £3.00. Normally in Carlisle we pay around £2.20 for a huge one, so it was a little disappointing.

Service was good, although the staff were rushed off their feet and did everything in a hurry.

Tablecloth was damp, freshly laundered I presume, but you got damp arms when you leant on it.

All in all, I would happily recommend and return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calstock
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Reliable formulaic Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good service and reliable if unexceptional food. Iif you're going at the weekend then book in advance and be prepared to wait. During the week service much more prompt and attentive. Good value for money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Nice looking restaurant, staff were pleasant, food was overall quite good.
But the pricing is way too expensive for a fairly bog standard Indian meal for 2.
£42 when you don't have starters or puddings, is just too much.
Won't be doing again.
Just because it's in the Lakes prices seem hiked...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeland Spice also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Lakeland Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeland Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.