We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at the Ferndene” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ferndene Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ferndene Guest House to your Saves list
Ferndene Guest House
6 St John's Terrace | Ambleside Road, Keswick CA12 4DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Nice stay at the Ferndene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Just spent 2 nights at the Ferndene. We had a room in the annex. The bathroom was a bit basic, but I understand that will be renovated shortly. I personally found the bed a bit too soft, and we have a king size bed at home, so I nearly fell out of the bed a couple of times! The bed linen was lovely quality, as were the bath towels. The curtains were lovely and thick as well. The parking could be a pain, but we parked outside next to the church so it wasn't an issue for us. Christine and Richard were a lovely couple, we told Christine we were going on the boat trip around the lake, and she recommended a couple of places to stop off at which were very nice. The breakfast was huge and good quality, I really liked the way the cereals were laid out and the bowl of chopped fresh fruit changed in variety the 2 days we were there. There was loads of recommendations for pub food, we tried the George at the bottom, I had the half a 'cow pie', never seen so much meat! As we left, they also suggested a route for us on the way home through Buttermere, which was very scenic. All in all, a good time!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
154
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We want to ferndene guest house for a romantic getaway before a 2days walk to Wasdale. It was perfect! the guesthouse is located between the lake and the main city street. In front of a church. The room was very nice and cosy, with a view on the montains. The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. The breakfast excellent and the hosts charming. It was a perfect stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough North Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Stayed on 3rd night of Cumbria Way. After a long hard day's walking received a warm welcome from Christine. Beautifully decorated room, spotlessly clean and every attention to detail. Lovely hot showers and comfy bed were well needed. Packed on our way next morning with excellent breakfast and even took photos for us in the garden! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We received a very warm welcome from Richard and Christine. Having never visited Keswick before, we were very impressed with the extensive information booklet in our room, which provided all the information you could possibly need on what's available in the town and recommendations for places to eat along with a handy streetmap. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean and breakfast was delicious! We had a lovely, lovely time and hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

My wife and I were made welcome by Richard and Christine and this was the first B&B we have stayed in over the last 16 years where the host helped you take your bags to your room.This was a great beginning to an enjoyable stay. The breakfast room is well laid out and the food excellent.Richard organises the guests parking in a way that lets you park and forget it till you need the vehicle again. We enjoyed our stay very much and to anyone planning to visit make sure you go to the Theatre by the Lake. Richard can point you in the right direction.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Richard and Christine are lovely hosts. Can't do enough for you. They even sent my pyjamas back when I left them in the room! Fantastic location - a very short walk into town and it proved a fab place from which to do our mammouth 17 mile walk around Derwent Water (plus extras!).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Christine and Richard are very helpful. Especially they provide lots of information about where to go and where to eat, etc. It is so important to me as this is my first time to Keswick. I will definitely to go back when I go to Keswick again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferndene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndene Guest House

Address: 6 St John's Terrace | Ambleside Road, Keswick CA12 4DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard and Christine welcome you to Ferndene B&B Guest House - A contemporary family run guest house offering high standard, comfortable and friendly bed and breakfast accommodation in Keswick. Ferndene Guest House is quietly situated a short stroll from the centre of the beautiful market town of Keswick in the heart of the Lake District National Park We are the perfect base to enjoy the magnificent scenery whether you wish to walk, cycle and explore the huge range of outdoor activities available nearby or simply to relax in comfort and get away from it all for a relaxing or romantic break. Ferndene Guest House is a pleasant ten minute walk from the Derwentwater lakeshore with its stunning views, boating, lake steamers and the famous Theatre by the Lake. Our traditional Victorian guest house has been comprehensively refurbished while still retaining much of its original character and, with our modern Annexe conveniently located next to our car park (providing free off road parking), has been carefully decorated in a modern style throughout. Rooms in the main house offer magnificent views of the mountains, with our exclusive top floor Suite giving panoramic views over Keswick and the fells. After a restful night's sleep in one of our tastefully furnished bedrooms enjoy a relaxing start to the day with breakfast served in our comfortable dining room overlooking the garden and St. John's Church. Indulge yourself with the famous Ferndene Guest House cooked Cumbrian breakfast, selected from the best locally available and Fairtrade sources. A large selection of cereals, yoghurts, dried and fresh fruit, orange and apple juice (lighter options and vegetarian breakfast always available. Special diets catered for on request prior to arrival). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ferndene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferndene Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.