We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Guest House Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avondale Guest House

Save Saved
You added Avondale Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avondale Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   20 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EF, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct For Best Deal
Ranked #10 of 178 Keswick B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Guest House Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed 3rd & 4th May 2013 - Stephen and Linda are so nice and welcoming, I honestly cannot recommend this place enough. All other B&B's I've stayed at come nowhere near the quality of this. The rooms are so immaculate it looks like we were the first guests to stay in them! Breakfast was fantastic - Stephens cooked breakfast is amazing - especially the black pudding, which even my wife enjoyed (she claims to not like black pudding). Everything about it was perfect. Keswick is a beautiful place (and just round the corner), but we wouldn't have enjoyed it nearly as much if it wasn't for the hospitality. We will be back.......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for the very kind remarks. You certainly enjoyed your first visit. It means so much to us to hear that guests have had such an amazing experience staying with us. Yes, Keswick is a lovely place. It's not until people come and visit that they realise just how lovely. We like to think that we're helping to make a visit to Keswick just a little bit special. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
83
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at avondale guest house on the 5th of may,lovely hosts steve and linda.all we can say is fab room,comfy beds,scottish breakfast outstanding(lots of other options)and we didn't want to leave!!.well recommended to all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for adding your fantastic comments to the growing list of reviews; it's much appreciated. Pleased you enjoyed the Full Scottish breakfast. Lots of guests are surprised by how good it is. Thanks for recommending us to all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Avondale whilst doing the coast to coast bike ride. I cannot recommend it enough.
The owners Linda and Stephen made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms are spotless, modern, well decorated whilst also keeping the traditional feel of a guesthouse. The shower was great and just what we needed after a long day in the saddle.
There is a fantastic choice for breakfast even for the fussiest of eaters like myself.
Great location, close to the centre and there was also a lock up for our bikes.
Amazing stay, thank you :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
You must be the first guest to post a review before leaving! Thank you for that and we're so happy that you enjoyed your couple of nights with us. We hope all went well with the next stages of your coast to coast trip. It was an absolute pleasure having the four of you stay with us and we're glad to have been able to help out in any way. You should look out for the Fred Whitton Challenge on the 12th of May this year. Something for next year perhaps?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elmsall, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

If your thinking of staying in Keswick this is the best place to stay. It is immaculately clean, very comfortable, and Stephens breakfast (which are gorgeous! a must to try is scrambled egg and smoked salmon on toasted granary bread.) are just what you need before setting out on a days walking. Stephen and Linda are the perfect hosts and cant do enough for you. They're also a good source of information on all local walks. We've stayed with them about eleven times over the past couple of years and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. We've even stayed when they've been quiet due to upgraded the rooms and putting new bathrooms in (not that they looked like they needed doing anyway!) and its still been immaculate! Stephen and Linda deserve to do really well with their business because they are such a lovely friendly couple. Thanks for a lovely weekend at Easter, and see you again as soon as we can. xx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for all the compliments, they're much appreciated. It was fabulous to see you both once more and even better that you managed to bring Tania again. Tell her we'll make sure the American pancakes are still on the menu for her next visit. Don't know about the smoked salmon though. Ha ha, just kidding! :-) We hope you manage to visit again this year and allow us a rematch at darts. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The B&B was wonderful and Breakfast was the best ever, Stephen and Linda were most helpful nothing was to much trouble we have been to Avondale before and will be going back very soon
Many thanks Joy & Mel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review. It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your break here in Keswick so much. We're also happy to hear that you enjoyed our full English breakfast as much as before. Can't wait till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Sometime you go back to a place and there is just something missing...it has lost some sparkle. Well not the Avondale!

It was great to see Linda and Stephen again.

1st class welcome and service
2nd time we have visited
3rd visit will hopefully be soon
4 of us had a great time
5 star service
6th day would have been great, but had to get back to work

We were in 7th heaven all week!

Thanks again Linda and Stephen.

One final point, DO NOT BELIEVE that Keswick and the Lake District always have the bad weather that the national forecasters say. The world would have you believe that Keswick was under 10 feet of snow recently. We had 4 great day's walking with slush and snow only around 1000ft....lower paths were often so dry they were dusty! Yours truly even got a tan walking round in a T-shirt at times. Give Keswick and the Avondale in particular a try - you might just be VERY pleasantly surprised

Room Tip: Haven't had one that was less than excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
What an amazing review. Many many thanks. It was great to see you all again. You're absolutely right about the weather forecast. It's often sunny here when the forecast is for rain. Glad to see that you appreciated the recent upgrades. It makes it all worthwhile when guests take the time to comment on our hard work :-). We look forward to that next visit you mentioned. Best wishes to the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have just returned from another stay in Keswick, I decided I had such a good experience last time at Avondale that I would try it again. I was not disappointed. the room was immaculate and comfortable, the breakfast was served with a wonderful smile and the food was superb. (I am veggie and they really go the extra mile to ensure you are not short changed).

the proprietors Linda and Steven have really got the balance right. They make you feel at home without making you feel you are being invaded. they also have a good knowledge of the local area and are happy to share some ideas on were to get the best food, walks etc.

I highly recommend Avondale d look forward to another visit in the future. They help make a holiday what it should be.

Room Tip: We have now slept in three different rooms and all of the beds were very good quality. If pushed I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catbells50, Owner at Avondale Guest House, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you once more for such a glowing review. It was lovely to see you again and we're really happy that you enjoyed your stay as much as before. Our vegetarian breakfasts certainly do seem to go down well. We reckon that they're probably the biggest in Keswick! Hope to see you later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avondale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Guest House

Address: 20 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avondale Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avondale Guest House is a traditional Victorian townhouse located less than 2 minutes walk from Keswick town centre. We have 4 Doubles, 1 Twin and 1 Single room. All rooms are fully refurbished with en-suites. Visit England Breakfast Award 2012&2013. Full English, Scottish or Vegetarian cooked breakfast is included in quoted rates. Special diets catered for. Free Wi-Fi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avondale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avondale Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.