We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deja Vu

Deja Vu
124 Stricklandgate, Kendal la9 4qg, England
+44 (0)1539 724843
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 111 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $41
Cuisines: International, English, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Kendal
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Had another good meal here. The food was of a good standard & the service friendly & efficient. The £15 menu is great value although the meringue in the assiette of desserts was very chewy & hard to actually get a fork through. My cod loin was perfectly cooked and the duck was excellent.House wine is £15 a bottle. Lovely buzzy atmosphere. You will probably need to book as it is very popular.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    93
    12
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Another great meal at Deja Vu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If there is another restuarant like this one I would like to know! Where else can you get an excellent three course french meal with wine for four people costing £77. The staff are friendly, it is cosy and quant, with little features such as old wine and champaign cases forming part ot the staircase and a great murial on the wall. Definately worth giving it a try. But, please don't all rush there at once, I am scarred it will become to popular and I won't get a table next time I go. It's open at lunch times now, I must try this!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Bistro Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We ate here why staying at the premier inn. Had read the reviews on trip advisior and thought we would give it a try, very glad we did! The resturant was busy, even for a Thursday evening. We both had the three courses and were not dissaponted. Plenty of choice, even if some had a supplement for them. The atmosphere was very buzzing and the staff, though buzy, made us fell very welcome. We will definately eat there again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Oo la la!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Found this gem on a wet and cold Saturday on our way back from Scotland. We were given a warm welcome in French themed surroundings. The lunch menu is short but interesting and very modest prices which is not a reflection on the food as it is EXCELLENT and very good value. The Toulouse sausage casserole is to die for as is the raspberry meringue mess! I am sure you will have to book for the evening as this must be a very popular restaurant especially for dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overdue return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Over the years we have eten at Deja Vu many.many times for lunch and dinner. However, we haven't visited for the last couple of years and I'm really glad we chose to visit again

The menu is wide and varied and prices are the to suit all budgets.
The service is welcoming, friendly and efficient
The food is delicious - no matter what you order
The early menu is excellent value - even if you go off and pay supplements it's still great value

Kendal has many, many places serving food but this has to be one of the best and more importantly the most consistant - over a number of years/visits.

The most important piece of advice I would give is BOOK A TABLE in advance or you may be disappointed on the night as it's a very popular place to eat.

We certainly won't leave it as long before we go again

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deja Vu also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Deja Vu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deja Vu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.