We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room

Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room
Low Sizergh Farm | Sizergh, Kendal LA8 8AE, England
015395 60426
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 110 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: $7 - $14
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Very popular location so we had to queue for a while before being seated. Once seated the staff were attentive and friendly and we enjoyed a delicious lunch. Well worth the wait at the beginning and it was nice to browse around the rest of the barn and see the cows being milked.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    61
    20
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broughton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this cute place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I am from the area, and whenever I have friends up, we always take a trip to Low Sizergh Barn! It is great for a mooch around and local produce and girfts. The cafe serves lovley food. This place is great for any visitors to the ares, with great food and a nice shop! Must visit! I will be back again soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely farm shop cafe for children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We visited a couple of times during our stay in Cumbria. The farm shop has a large range of great food, plus a gift area. The Tea Room overlooks the milking shed - and if you time it right (c.3.30pm daily) you can watch the cows coming in for milking. Perfect for small children - our two girls loved it. The coffee, tea, hot chocolate and cake were all marvellous, and they had provided various farm related toys to keep young children amused. A nice touch was an information sheet about the dairy herd, explaining all sorts of things that even the adults in our group didn't know. Did you know cows wear pedometers, and if they suddenly begin walking much further, they are ready for mating?!

There was also a farm trail that could be followed - looked great, but not for us in the middle of winter.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good after a bad patch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had been visiting here for a number of years and been very pleased with the quality of the food, coffee and service. We have provided very good reports here over the years. However recent personnel changes had a downward effect on the service and friendliness the tea room. This has all been resolved and the normal friendly, efficient service accompanied by some excellent coffee and good food had been resumed. It is well worth a visit if nearby and the view from the tea room of the milking at 3.30 p.m. is an attraction for youngsters. Next week we will go for coffee and scones again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“ALWAYS STOP HERE WHEN HEADING NORTH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I love this place but for some reason have never put a review on Tripadvisor. I have a particular affinity as I think I've been visiting more or less since it opened some 20 odd years since and I like the improvements made in the last couple of years including the new set of toilets and the way the cafe area has been extended. It's not necessarily the cheapest place around but it's a great stop off when coming back from the Lakes. The coffee is excellent and the cakes are to die for with a good choice of lunches. I am always impressed with the shop area on the ground floor and rarely come away empty handed. In summer, there are walks around the farm and it's great for the children to see where their milk and eggs originate. They can watch the milking from the viewing gallery and the hens are always busy strutting their stuff in the fields. Also in summer, they usually have a cart outside selling delicious ice creams.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.