We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room

Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room
Low Sizergh Farm | Sizergh, Kendal LA8 8AE, England
015395 60426
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 110 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: $7 - $14
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Cumbria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

20 minute wait for some service whilst sat at table - eventually went to get waitress myself. Ordered quiche / salad and goats cheese sandwich. After waiting a further 35 minutes for the food, we were quite astounded when, literally, a slice of quiche and a handful of very stringy and chewy spring onions and carrots was presented with some wilted lettuce - cannot, for the life of me, see what took 35 minutes about that... Husbands cheese sandwich was better but sure as hell not worth the £17 bill for these and a pot of tea... Live locally and have never been here. Probably won't again, which is a shame because I like to support local businesses...

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    63
    20
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
872 reviews 872 reviews
750 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 331 cities Reviews in 331 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
“Eat while the cows are milked in front of you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The tea room is upstairs in a barn - a real barn as you will see. One side of the tea room is all large windows that overlook the milking stalls. Milking time is usually mid-afternoon. Certainly a fun thing for children. We had the hearty soup - very good, a salad - also good and sandwich. Very pleasant experience all around. A bit pricey, but worth it - we need to support this type of establishment

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“nice place but oridnary food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I would have expected more from a barn tea room. We could not even choose where to sit! I ordered a baked potato and fillings were scarce. Cake was ok, I would probably go again if in the area now that I know what to expect and will not be disappointed as I was first time round.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Bit Ordinary.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

It makes a good break when we are travelling by somewhere else and want to buy some food from the shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely shop and Tearooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Beautiful selection of fresh local produce but the clothing is quite expensive.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.