We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room

Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room
Low Sizergh Farm | Sizergh, Kendal LA8 8AE, England
015395 60426
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 110 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: $7 - $14
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Great tea room and very good cakes. You have the chance to watch the local dairy heard being milked while you tuck into your milkshake or coffee. Delightful atmosphere. The farm shop is second to none with top local produce plus there is the added bonus of a gift shop on the same floor as the tea room and another in the converted basement of the barn. There are regular events throughout the year to keep you coming back. When the weather is good you can stroll around the local area meeting the animals as well. A lovely day out for the family

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    63
    20
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

staying near by and stopped for a coffee and some provisions from the farm shop. Had the homemade apple pie and ice cream absolutely delicious

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Tea Room, Deli, Gift Shop and Milking Shed in one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Our second visit to this establishment, on a weekend away in the Lakes.

The tea room/café is situated upstairs in the farm building, the lower level being reserved for a farm shop. The shop sells all manner of deli items and local produce. A gift shop occupies the basement.

The tea room offers a wide range of bakery goods/cakes, making it an ideal stopover for morning coffee/afternoon tea. Light lunches are also available along with a specials board, with prices being reasonable.

We both had a large sausage which came on a choice of bread/baguette, along with a small ginger beer. Around £15 for the pair of us, good value for a quick, tasty and filing lunch.

The rear wall of the café seating area is a large window, which looks down on the milking shed. Milking times are displayed downstairs and no doubt would be an added interest to those with small children.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great tea room with unique features”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I've passed it but never went until last week, we thought it was very good, wish we'd found it before

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Loved this place one day we had breakfast, lunch, tea and shopped for all types of goodies. Pork pies were so good eat 4 for lunch when I got home. Glad I don't live near I would be twice the size in days :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Low Sizergh Barn Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.