We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyndhurst Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lyndhurst Guest House to your Saves list
Lyndhurst Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8 South Road, Kendal LA9 5QH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for a weekend and had a fantastic time. Stuart, the host made us very welcome and advised us of places to visit and good walks around the area. The guest house was spotless, clean and tidy and an excellent breakfast is served. Excellent location for exploring the Lakes. Will visit again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    18
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
55
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lyndhurst Guest House on my parents recommendation - they've stayed there many times while visiting my grandmother in Kendal and always had a great experience. We couldn't agree more. Stuart was a down-to-earth host and we enjoyed chatting with him, even when he was technically "off the clock." He is very knowledgeable about local restaurants and sites, and his recommendations proved to be spot on. (Particularly Romney's!) The house and rooms are comfortable, quiet, and well-furnished. We enjoyed the hot power shower and the wi-fi was fast. Stuart woke up early to personally cook us breakfast. It was delicious and filling, with local favorites like Cumbrian sausage on the menu. They even offer a low-fat version if you want, but we went for full fat. My husband likes to drink peppermint tea, so Stuart got some just for him! Great service. The Lyndhurst is in a perfect location. It's only about a 10 minute walk from Kendal's town center. Plenty of free parking on the street out front. It was the quintessential B&B experience. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: King Room on top floor had excellent power shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My partner and I were in the area to visit family as well as squeezing in a bit of sightseeing. We were looked after so well, we've already recommended the Lyndhurst to all the family and will without doubt stay here again! On arrival we were welcomed by Stuart who explained everything we could ever need to know and even gave us a map of the town and explained the best and worst places to eat. He took our orders and time for breakfast, which was in no way too regimented. Our room was spotless. The tea/coffee facilities were more than adequate. The bathroom was so clean it looked new! We discovered later on that the shower was brilliant and the bed was so comfy I had to have an afternoon nap. When it came to breakfast the next morning, this also exceeded expectations. Lovely local food, cooked perfectly. What more would you want? Thank you for a lovely stay and we hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

a very nice place,good company and food, excellent breakfast, pleasent and enjoyable, will go back for a third time ,great humour by stuart and becky,great warm beds,had a wonderfull two evenings there will try and stay more there in the future ,always easy to please and very knowledgable about kendal and the lakes.always good pointers with places to visit and pubs and also restuarants...no down points of any kind .A Brilliant Place to stay ,i truly RECOMMEND it !!!!!!!

Room Tip: room 4 its very quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

this b&b is in a superb location to explore the lake district.stuart and beverly made us very welcome especially as we arrived early. i initially booked for two nights but then at very short notice changed this to three which stuart was very helpful with.the room was very clean and fresh and also had tea and coffee facilities.we also had a tv and wifi which is a nice bonus.breakfast was superb with many options including fruit juice tea and coffee.stuart has a superb knowledge of the area which was also very helpful.lyndhurst is only about a 5 minute walk into kendal town centre which has everything you need.i would highly recommend the lyndhurst and will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first time and we are very glad to have found this place. The facilities were clean and comfortable and the hosts were wonderful. The place is at a walkable distance to a lot of fine restaurants, pubs and shops.

The hosts Stuart and Beverly were very friendly and warm. They accommodated our late arrival, ensured our needs were met, offered vegetarian options for my breakfast main course, gave their recommendations on the restaurants and places to visit.

I have had issues with TV, power shower and Wifi with various B&B's in the past. Nothing of that sort happened in Lyndhurst. Everything worked just fine.

I wish we had more options for breakfast say fruits, yogurt or pastries. Other than that, this place is one of the best B&B's.

I would certainly stay here again !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

As stated in previous reviews, B&Bs in the UK are different than the ones we are accustomed to visiting in the US. So if you are an American don't expect to find US equivalent lodging, but then if American is what you want, what are you doing in the UK?

The Lyndhurst Guest House is an excellent B&B; the hosts are lovely, the food is good, beds are comfortable, and the location is excellent for visiting the Lakes and Kendal area. It's only real negative is the parking situation - parking is on the street and limited, just keep your fingers crossed you find a spot.

For Americans, the rooms are small by our standards and all of the rooms are upstairs, again not unusual for the UK. However, they are pleasant. The room we stayed in had a closet that held our luggage, with the door left open. We were flying so we had the airline determined luggage: two suitcases, two carry ons, two personal items. Pretty much what any tourist would have. Stuart and Yvonne had offered us space in a storage closet if we needed it, but we didn't. However, their offer was very much apprciated.

Yvonne had a broken leg so I believe we saw the Lyndhust under the worst conditions...which is saying they must be really great when she is able to be up and about! She still made us feel welcome, gave us good (very good!) advice on where to eat and local sites to visit, and made sure the BH had a place to look at maps and work on his GPS and camera in the evenings. Stuart was simply phenomenal. We wanted to see the Lakes District. He had road maps to loan us, good advice as to roads and sites, and was most helpful. He also made sure our breakfast was perfect. I'm vegetarian and although the Full English is a lovely idea, and the BH enjoyed them, I just can't do it. Stuart brought me wonderful poached eggs every morning for breakfast, a very pleasant change from the fried eggs I had been getting! Definitely a big step up from where we had been staying in the Peaks!

This is really a 4.5 English B&B, but Trip Adviser doesn't allow for partial stars! I believe one can not go wrong at the Lyndehurst. Welcoming, comfortable, knowledgeable, and the price was very reasonable. I would stay again and heartily recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyndhurst Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndhurst Guest House

Address: 8 South Road, Kendal LA9 5QH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyndhurst Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lyndhurst Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyndhurst Guest House Kendal, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyndhurst Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.