We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balcony House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balcony House
Save
You added Balcony House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pool gym and spa
Ranked #1 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Had another fantastic stay. The Balcony House is the best place we have stayed. Mandy and Brian are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Little touches in the room made the stay even better. Breakfast was absolutely brilliant and set us up for the day. Will definately be booking again. and soon if my husband has anything to do with it.
thanks again
julie & jeff

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
186
11
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed at the balcony house after being told to go there by my boyfriends dad. He told us it was good, he was wrong! it was unbelievably good! Mandy and Brian were so nice and accommodating. We stayed in room 1 which instantly gave the wow factor when we opened the door. We made use of the leisure facilities which was a fantastic bonus to have. Everything about the weekend, breakfast and hospitality was perfect, cannot wait to return!! Daniella & Sean :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a really enjoyable few days in Kendal in June but were surprised by the amount of fixtures and furniture in our room - it was too cluttered. Mandy keeps the house very clean - I don't know how she does it as the whole house is full of stuff.
Breakfast was for us Ok but perhaps rather on the unnecessarily large side and perhaps they'd be better off providing a menu. In my opinion a good b and b should be judged at breakfast by their choice of sausage and I personally would prefer a better sausage and bacon and overall less food.
One other comment is that the duvet choice is very high in tog value for the time of year. Would have preferred a summer duvet.
Mandy was excellent in recommending some good restaurants that we booked before coming up - Castle Dairy restaurant in particular.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at Balcony House in Kendal for one night in June, and we loved it. The rooms were beautifully decorated and gave a homely feel, both in the bedroom that we booked and in the rooms downstairs. Our room was immaculately clean and very comfortable, and had everything we could have needed, including WiFi with an excellent signal. The hosts, Mandy and Brian made us feel very welcome and even baked cup cakes for us on arrival. They were very friendly and helpful, and even let us out into the garden to see the animals. We cannot recommend balcony house enough, and we will stay there again if we are ever back in Kendal.
Craig and Laura

Room Tip: There is plenty of safe parking directly in front of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

A warm and friendly welcome by Brian and Mandy, to a quaint and beautifully decorated home.A very comfortable bed and an absolutely delicious breakfast! What more do you need when cycling the w2w. A great place to stay. Would highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

A truly lovely place to stay, with a warm and homely welcome from Mandy & Brian. Beautiful clean & comfortable rooms and well presented with all possible facilities. Nothing was too much trouble. Excellent breakfast. You must see the ducks and hens - you will want to take them home.
Can't wait to go back. Highly recommend. Amanda & Mike

Room Tip: We overlooked the beautiful gardens, facing onto the dales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here for a night on our Dales Way walk. Lovely room, very comfortable bed and great breakfast. Very warm welcome and Brian very kindly gave us a lift back to the start of our next day's walk and had offered to pick us up if needed the previous day. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy N, Owner at Balcony House, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balcony House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony House

Address: 82 Shap Road, Kendal LA9 6DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Balcony House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality family run bed and breakfast with clean comfortable rooms.Free use of local hotel pool/gym/spa.Full English breakfast or vegetarian options.Double/twin/4 poster rooms.TV/DVD player, free internet access. Tea/Coffee/ biscuits in all rooms. Complimentary toiletries.Guest lounge. Free parking directly in front of property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balcony House Kendal, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balcony House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.