We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sonata guest house kendal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonata Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sonata Guest House to your Saves list
Sonata Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   19 Burneside Road, Kendal LA9 4RL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Wrecsam, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“sonata guest house kendal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

On arrival at sonata we were greeted by Inoka who welcomed me by my first name(nice touch).we were shown to our room even though it was not ready to occupy because we were early to make sure it was OK.Inoka then gave us a map of the town and other maps were available. The host was very good providing information on where to go and what to see.room was very clean and very warm just what you need on a very cold November weekend.stayed two nights and I must say the breakfast is probably the best I have ever had(full English) would not hesitate to stay here again,loved it.bowness on Windermere about 15 mins drive Kendal town center 5mins walk

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi John,
Thanks for the review. Hope the weather was OK on your drive home. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. On your next visit to Kendal perhaps, you can go to Dales as well. Hope to see you again in the future.

Inoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
61
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My partner, David and I, spent one night here in September and I have to say it was fantastic. Inoka and Chris were so welcoming and the attention to detail was a breath of fresh air. The bedroom was lovely as were the sitting and dining rooms. The breakfast exceeded all expectations (including Inoka's white egg omlette!) and when we ever come to Kendal there is nowhere else we would stay. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thanks David & Jo and I hope you do come back, your both very welcome. I’m so happy David that you liked my egg white omelette – it was the first time I had made this. It’s good to get such positive feedback from an expert  Since then I’ve made this for myself – delish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We only had one night at the Sonata, but very impressed with the welcome. Inoka's friendly attitude did not go unnoticed and in the morning she was same to all guests. At better breakfast we could not have asked for and we both wished we had booked here for the duration of our visit to the lakes. Exceeded expectations in aspect, especially as it was booked short notice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hi Paul & Dawn, thank you very much for taking the time to review The Sonata. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sonata and hope that I will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.
Best wishes
Inoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

From the moment I arrived I knew this would be a greaat place to stay simply by the welcome I received. My room was very comfortable and my one night stay was rounded off by a great breakfast. All of this for a very good value for

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hi Michael,
Thanks a lot for taking the time to review the Sonata. I'm glad that you had a nice time in Kendal at the birthday party and enjoyed our breakfast, although it was a short break. Hope to see you back again in the future.

Best wishes
Inoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A beautiful place to stay, wonderful hosts and a great breakfast. Our hosts were really attentive and kind - we particularly appreciated being given a parking permit to park outside the house as parking in Kendal is generally quite tricky. The rooms are lovely and comfortable and the bathrooms impeccably clean. Lovely biscuits too! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hi Katie,
Thanks a lot for taking time to write your lovely comments on Tripadviser. It was lovely meeting you and the family. We will make sure, to find the time, to see you performing next year.
Best wishes
Inoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We only had one night at the Sonata, but were very impressed with the welcome we received and with the friendly attitude of our hosts. Great location within easy walking distance to restaurants, etc. Best breakfast I believe we've ever had in a guest house, with multiple choices. We were completely satisfied with every aspect of our short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hi Patrick,
Thanks a lot for taking time to write a positive review about Sonata Guest House. I’m glad that you liked our breakfast.
Hope you had a lovely holiday in Scotland and now back in sunny Dubai.
Best wishes
Inoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very welcoming, Inoka and Chris could not do enough to make our 4 day stay relaxing, and helping us to organise our days out. Breakfast was really nice plenty of choice and any special requests was no trouble. Parking is a little awkward. Would defiantly recommend and return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inoka P, Owner at Sonata Guest House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hi Mr & Mrs Rogers
Thanks for your valuable time to review the Sonata Guest House. It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your trip to Beatrix Potter’s Hill Top Farm– we went there too and have now bought the ‘Tale of Peter Rabbit’ for guests to read!

See you next year, perhaps for the ‘Great Peter Rabbit Easter egg hunt’.

Best wishes,
Inoka & Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonata Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonata Guest House

Address: 19 Burneside Road, Kendal LA9 4RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonata Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonata Guest House offers outstanding 4 Star B&B accommodation in the heart of Kendal in the South Lakes. We're a Visit England Breakfast award-winning B&B just a 5 minutes walk from Kendal's great choice of specialist shops, cafes, restaurants and the famous Brewery Arts Centre. Browse our reviews on TripAdvisor - we're a Certificate of Excellence award-winner. Local bus and rail links are just a short stroll from the B&B and the Lake District National Park border is just a 3 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sonata Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonata Guest House Kendal, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonata Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.