We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romneys Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Romneys Apartments to your Saves list
Romneys Apartments
Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
WAKEFIELD
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“fabulous place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We are a family of 4 and decided to go for a 2 night break in between Christmas and new year. The apartments are gorgeous, clean, well decorated and spacious. We stayed in a 2 bedroomed apartment and couldn't have been more pleased with it.
On both nights we ate at Romneys which I can highly recommend the food was lovely. On the first night we didn't book and they managed to find us a table so on the Saturday night we made sure we booked which was a good idea as the place was so busy.
I can highly recommend this place and would definatley go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    13
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
30
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Torre del Mar, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We only spent one night there, but we found Romney's an excellent accommodation. Above all, it's a fresh and modern place with a nice and pleasant, even funny, staff. The food (specially the Cumberland Sausage) and beers (you must sip the local Agnes' Ghost) were stunning at the welcoming atmosphere of the restaurant. Nevertheless, Romney's is too far from Kendal bus or train station if you cannot drive there. They should report this when you make the booking, and say what bus line to take after arriving to Kendal. We walked too much. Besides this, the bar is not open till 9 am and that can be a problem if you need to have breakfast earlier. Finally, it's important to be careful with the entrance stairs when it's raining because they're slippery. On the whole, it's a great place, very cheap indeed and I just regret I couldn't stay longer. Thanks sincerely to the staff for his warm welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights in one of the apartments. Really nicely appointed, very comfortable and great views from the sitting room. The pub equally is very good with very friendly staff and great food that is also good value. Don't hesitate to book.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were looking for accommodation in Kendal for one night for 3 adults. Was considering the Premier Inn, which has limited parking and price doesn't include breakfast, then I accidentally found Romneys website, booked a 2 bedroom apartment for £75. It was great, very new and modern and comfortable. Had a lovely view onto a wooded grassy area. Got the car parked easily and took our own breakfast with us. The shower was just great. Had a very peaceful comfortable sleep.
When we booked in we were asked if we wanted a table booked for dinner, which we did, so we also had a very enjoyable meal.
Would definitely recommend Romneys (already told anyone who would listen), and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed in the stables last week for a couple of nights, and they are perfect for a family holiday only sorry we couldn't have stayed longer. The childrens play area which is under cover was loved by the youngest members of our family, as was the restaurant which was excellent value for money. The apartments are very tastefully decorated and come equiped with every thing you need and more, tea ,coffee, sugar, milk, dishwasher tablets plus the usual complimentary towels, shampoo and conditioner. Will definitely be booking another visit as the location is perfect for sight seeing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Beautiful well equipped apartments. The Manager couldn't do enough to please. We had a problem with the heating and he fixed it immediately.
Location excellent and pub next door did great food. We'll definately go back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed in Lodge 2 for a couple of nights last week and will definately return. 2 bedroom, gorgeous apartment at a very reasonable rate per night. Ate in Romneys restaurant beside the apartment on both nights as it was so good. Would have liked to have tried something different on the second night but the carvery was so good, we had that both nights. Again, food and drink very reasonable. Staff were all lovely and really helpful. Had a beautiful couple of days. thank you :-)

Room Tip: Lodge 2 was excellent but I imagine they're all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Romneys Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romneys Apartments

Address: Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Romneys Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romneys Apartments Kendal, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romneys Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.