We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot Find Fault at All” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenhouse Restaurant

Greenhouse Restaurant
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Green Hotel | Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England
+(44)01539 734000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 110 Restaurants in Kendal
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cannot Find Fault at All”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Greenhouse is a fantastic restaurant. Try and get a table in the conservatory, lovely views over Kendal and onward to the lakes. Service is excellent. Menu choice is very good. Food is absolutely lovely. Even if you don't stay at the Castle Green, The Green house is well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 star restaurant with 5 star service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The Greenhouse is a lovely restaurant with beautiful views of the garden at the front of the hotel. In April the trees are all full of blossom and make a fantastic back drop for a romantic meal. The service is always first rate and if you were unhappy with anything they would want to know to put it right. There are 2 menus, one of which is the taster menu, there are 5 courses to choose from and you can have as many or as few as you want. You can also mix and match with courses from the other menu so plenty of choice. It is not a cheap menu but the food is well worth the price as it is extra special with unusual styles. We have had 3 meals in the Greenhouse over our stays at the hotel and every meal has been excellent with first class service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Lots of choice on the menu, the food was reasonably priced.Food was amazing and beautifully presented. Service was good and staff knew the menu well and was able to advise.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had Christmas Dinner here and could not fault it the food was excellent and staff lovely - only had one minor complaint which was having to remind the waiter 3 times we were waiting for coffee . Other than that it was faultless

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evrehailles, Belgium
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I dined here with 2 business colleagues and we were all pleased. Although the description of the starter exceeded the actual taste in my opinion, my colleague did not share my view, and I was sick so my sense of taste may have been compromised. the main course and dessert lived up to my expectations. They were kind enough to bring over a Sticky Toffee Pudding (my favorite!) from the pub menu for me. The steward and staff were excellent too, above and beyond the call of duty. They have several vegetarian options too and are willing to modify dishes for us of hte veggie/vegan persuasion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenhouse Restaurant also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Greenhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.