We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Grub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Romneys

Romneys
72 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HG, England
01539 720956
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 113 restaurants in Kendal
Price range: $3 - $33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have been here a few times now and always opt for the carvery. The selection of meats are lovely and there is always plenty of vegetables to choose from. You can pile your plate as high as you like with no one giving you funny looks. The staff are always friendly and will chat away to you. Its great to go with family or friends. It is not too expensive so if you are having one of those 'i dont want to cook today' days then this wont break the bank and every one will have a full tummy and a smile on their face.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    175
    91
    33
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Amazing venue for our wedding reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing wedding day we had and a lot of that was down to the amazing venue we choose for our reception. Friendly and efficient staff who were very welcoming. All our guests were catered to especially ones with dietary requirements. The marquee looked amazing. We then stayed a night in the accommodation which was lovely and very comfy, we didn't want to leave. Thank you so much for making our day perfect

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest england
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“1st time since it opened.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went for lunch and had the carvery. Very impressed. Good portions of meat and a good selection of fresh vegetables. It's a lovely place and we will be going again soon. Sorry we haven't been earlier.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visited Romney's on two occasions on a recent trip to Kendal to meet up with family, having travelled from Ireland. The food is outstandng and the carvery is especially so! Worth a visit for the chef's special Tapa selection starter!

The kiddies play area is secure and the young 'uns even have their own door in and out of the play area. Service was excellent and we absolutley loved Romneys!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for a family meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Just visited for a Sunday Carvery with the family, including two girls under 7. Excellent service, very good food (choice of four roasts and an absolutely massive choice of different vegetables) and comfortable surroundings. A real bonus is the carefully thought out play area outside for the children. Highly recommend this venue for a family meal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romneys also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Romneys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romneys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.