We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Kitchen

Cottage Kitchen
Finkle Street, Kendal, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 110 Restaurants in Kendal
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Traditional cafe
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
“OUTSTANDING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I am very pleased with the quality of the food I received at the cottage kitchen good value for money very friendly people who go out of there way to make your meal right for you!! Nothing is too much trouble for them and are very happy to see you when you walk through the door and very welcoming :D all food cooked fresh and you can taste it as well absolutely beautiful well done!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best gluten free fish ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Called today for lunch and ordered fish and chips I am not a coeliac but I have to say the quality and taste of the fish was outstanding no different than regular chip shop fish can't get over how good it was as, I have had gluten free fish from many chippies and it as never been anything like the real thing but honestly could not tell the difference had to ask if mine was gluten free it was that good
Many thanks

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Local Perspective”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Have had lunch here many times. Always friendly and helpful staff. Food excellent with generous portions. Even with a sandwich you get a huge portion of fresh salad. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great gluten free food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is a great place to eat. The fish and chips (with a gluten free batter) was delicious the batter was very light and crispy. Served with chips, mushy peas and bread(gluten free option available). The cakes were lovely and the hand made mince pies were the best I've tasted. The staff were friendly and helpful. Great to have so much gluten free options. Will visit again if we are in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“gluten free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

had been to this cafe once before and met the team at the coeliac fair at carlisle so called in to check out the food. My husband ordered fish,chips and mushy peas with bread and butter and tea all for £5.99. I ordered same very tasty batter and was filling even though it was the smaller portion.Most of the customers coming in that day were ordering gluten free food so must be doing ok. I dont know how they manage to keep the ordinary food seperate from the gluten free as the kitchen is quite small. We were a bit apprehensive as it is so easy to cross contaminate but as yet my husband seems fine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottage Kitchen also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Cottage Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.