We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of School House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
School House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added School House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Castle Street, Kendal LA9 7AD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Off Road Parking
Ranked #2 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great B&B in a picturesque location. Comfy, well designed room with the delight of breakfast in room picked from a vast choice. Had a nice view of the river. Lovely host who was able to give advice on local area, restaurants etc. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
71
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated is how I would describe this bed and breakfast.
Heidi is the perfect host , caring , but not intrusive. The idea of breakfast in your room is superb as you can relax in front of the TV and wake up slowly and refreshed.
I am booking again next month and it is very rare for me to revisit somewhere I have stayed before unless it is superb., it certainly is that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights whilst up for the Tour of Britain cycle race. Nice quiet location but ideally placed as Kendal centre is within walking distance. Heidi is very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Lovely breakfast served in your room. Rooms all en suite and tastefully decorated. We had the room with the river view which was very nice. Couldn't recommend this enough and would definitely stay here again if ever in the area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed for one night whilst visiting family. Good location 5 minutes walk from town centre. Friendly welcome, river view room, comfortable bed. Heidi made suggestions for places to eat. Great breakfast which we chose from extensive menu previous evening. Parking space available if required. Would certainly return here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

stayed here one night on a walking holiday. The hostess was very welcoming, and gave me a very good tip for a place to eat that evening. I was too tired to see much of Kendal, but the room was delightful and comfortable, with a good en suite bathroom, and they provide a terrific choice for breakfast, which is served in your own room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The owners are very welcoming hosts The room was extremely clean and well designed. We were also provided with dressing gowns and slippers so we could have our breakfast in comfort in our room Very good breakfast beautifully presented. Heidi having taken into account of our preferences gave us a list of where to eat in the evening. We would certainly recommend School House , it is walkable to Kendal city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

One night only whilst passing through but accommodation excellent, very good breakfast and convivial helpful hosts. I would recommend any time and hope to return some time. Great advice given on places to eat in town - really good French restaurant tipped and chosen!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to School House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Castle Street, Kendal LA9 7AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — School House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone’s throw from the River Kent, easy access to transport networks and less than a ten minute walk to Kendal’s bustling town centre, our Bed and Breakfast is ideally placed for you to relax and unwind and enjoy all that Kendal and the stunning surrounding area has to offer. All our bedrooms are en-suite and are well equipped with TVs, DVD players, Kettles, Robes and Slippers and of course Kendal Mint cake! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
School House Bed And Breakfast Kendal, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage School House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.