We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Excellent Food :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Riverside Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beezon Road | Stramongate Bridge, Kendal LA9 6EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Kendal
Cheshire, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Excellent Food :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We wanted to go away for a few nights for our wedding annivesary, and liked the look of this hotel - but when we tried to book it using the various hotel booking sites it showed no availability - and by chance I went on to the hotel's website which showed there was availability and we got a really good rate for two nights half board and one night b and b.

The hotel has a covered car park (free for guests) and we were met by a cheery receptionist and were told we were on the 4th (refurbished) floor, but unfortunately the lift was broken but would be fixed by tomorrow. We huffed and puffed up four flights of stairs - but the room was lovely - has ample size flat screen tv on the wall, ironing board and iron, tea and coffee, toiletries, hairdryer, and we had a king size so excellent bed size and plenty of pillows which a lot of hotels don't manage to provide. There was also plenty of storage space. However . . . we know the Lake District doesn't have many heatwaves and we picked the right (or wrong!) weekend to go, but our heating was on full and the towel rail in the bathroom threw out enough heat to heat a small country! The window only opened a few inches and it was like a sauna in our room!

Anyway, broken lift and room like a sauna aside, we went down to dinner - and wow, what excellent excellent food - could not fault it, or the service, and could not praise it enough. Wonderful wonderful, and compliments to the chef and kitchen staff.

Breakfast was nice, we were welcomed and asked if we wanted tea, coffee, toast - and everything else was buffet. Cereals, juices, continental, pastries and cooked served buffet style. Oh how nice to serve ourselves so I could make a breakfast where bean juice doesn't mix with egg, and make sure there were no mushrooms on my plate without having to explain it all to someone serving me. Full points yet again to the kitchen staff.

Unfortunately the lift was not fixed the next day, (or the next or the one after that) and I suffer with MS and asthma and really struggled to go up and down four flights of stairs. I do not doubt for one moment that if we had asked to be moved the hotel would have found us a lower floored room, and if I had known the lift would not have been working for our whole stay I would certainly have asked when we first booked in, but each day we were told 'it will be fixed tomorrow' - I later found out (at checkout!) they were waiting for a new cable that had to be ordered.

We made use of the swimming pool and jacuzzi, not huge by any means but certainly adequate for the hotel and a nice bonus if you are staying there.

One of the comments I read on here moaned about dirty mugs and spoons in the bedroom - I checked ours on arrival - and ours were spotless, In fact the whole room was spotless - no complaints at all about that - but sadly on our second day the tea and milk weren't replenished so poor hubby had to go up and down four flights to request more - still, I am sure the exercise did him good after all the excellent food we were eating there. He had a similar trip when our room key did not work and needed to be reset - more exercise up and down the stairs!

We eventually asked if our bathroom heating could be turned off as we could not find a way to do it, and it was turned off thankfully. We also asked if we could borrow a fan which was eventually provided, and did make a lot of difference. If you are staying there while it is warm, it is worth requesting one to be in your room.

The bar is a nice relaxing place, with two rooms and a balcony outside overlooking the River Kent - with ducks and fishes to sit and watch. It serves some rather nice real ales (for you CAMRA members!) as well as all the usual drinks and a good selection of food. One minor complaint here, while we were there the barmaid often was not behind the bar, and one night I stood there for 15 minutes waiting to be served, then gave up and sat down without a drink! I wasn't alone either, at least two other people did the same. There is a rather pleasant pub a few minutes walk away called the Castle if you fancy a change.

From the hotel it is an easy stroll over the bridge into Kendal, and just a few minutes walk to the shops and market - and it goes without saying that you are fairly close to get to Windermere and other places. There was an open top bus going past regularly that I am sure goes up past Windermere.

Oh, just in case you had forgotten what I had said about the food being excellent - let me remind you - the food is excellent!! On our last night when we were only b and b, and could have eaten anywhere - we decided that nowhere local would be that good, so still ate at the hotel yet again!

Yes, I seem to have had one or two gripes - the lift not working (one of those things could happen anywhere), no tea and milk and an absent barmaid, and oppressive heat with the heating on full, oh and someone on our floor left their used room service plates outside our room where they stayed for over 24 hours till we mentioned it to reception, but please please don't let that put you off staying here. It is genuinely a really nice hotel where all the staff are pleasant and welcoming, the food, well you know what we thought of the food!, it is clean, has wonderful views from all the rooms, even lets dogs stay although we did not see any. We will certainly stay there again next time we are in that part of the world and hopefully that will be soon :)

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
Wow! Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a thorough and detailed review! I am very sorry that your stay was not as perfect as it should be - I have taken steps to ensure that the few things that were not right have now been fixed, the lift is now in working order, the heating has been looked at by a plumber and the temperature adjusted for the summer and the bar maid is now chained to the bar! I have also passed on all your positive comments to each department who are all very grateful for the feedback – in particular the kitchen and restaurant staff. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to the lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    241
    112
    49
    24
See reviews for
90
318
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Stayed here for two nights while in Kendal. Rooms are fantastic, large and warm, huge television on the wall, tea & coffee with biscuits. There is an iron and ironing board in your room, a hair-drier and the usual toiletries in the bathroom. The bathroom was immaculate with a really good shower. The room over looked the river and was very peaceful.

The meals were good ~ breakfast was a cooked one or the usual cereals, pastries, yoghurt, juice, toast and tea or coffee. Dinner was a varied menu with plenty of choice.

Location ~ two minutes walk from the centre of Kendal.
Staff were pleasant and worked hard.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
Thank you very much for this great review. I have passed on all your comments to each department. We hope to welcome you again to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed in room 10 overlooking the river. Nice pool, bar, and good food in restaurant. Staff very nice. Rooms were excellent. A good 3 star which will merit 4 stars without many changes. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2010
Thanks for time out to write this great review about the hotel. It is very much appreciated. We look foward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed here for four nights with our border collie. The room they gave us was spacious, quiet and (at our request) on the ground floor). The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful in recommending where to walk the dog from the hotel, nearby restaurants, directions etc. We booked B & B but on our next visit will definitely book half board (the photo on their web site of the restaurant does not do it justice). However, the breakfasts were excellent, tasty and good variety, and the waitresses friendly and efficient.

The gym/pool area is an added bonus and has good long opening hours. We have no hesitation in recommending this first rate hotel to anyone and for those with dogs it is a terrific location.

We had a query on our bill which we didn't pick up until we were at home. Following an e-mail, the management quickly and efficiently sorted out the problem, which was a very pleasant surprise as really it was our fault for not spotting it at the time. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2010
Firstly thank you very much for writing such a glowing review, I have passed all your compliments onto the staff. My apologies for the problems with your bill but I am glad that the problem was resolved to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Firstly this hotel could easily be a 4* with a little care and attention.

I arrived on 26th March for 2 nights and was amazed at the fantastic location that this hotel has.
However a little TLC is needed from the management to take this hotel up a level.

As we entered our room and went to make a cup of tea the spoons were found to be dirty and stick, clearly they had not been cleaned.
The in room brochure stated that room service was available from 7am till 9pm but when i tried to order a sandwich i was told they stop serving food at 2pm !
I then waited at the reception for a good 10 mins whilst the receptionist was on her mobile phone outside the main entrance and clearly saw me waiting.
Again later when i went to the bar, after 10 mins no one had arrived to serve me so we left.
These little things, although not major issues are part of the customer care package and should be addressed by the management.
The Gym was very good and also the pool but chewing gum on the side of the pool and toe nails in the steam room are off putting. Albeit the pool is very clean and im guessing some guests must also take responsibility for there own actions.

The food was excellent and can not be faulted with the menu changing daily and the service from the restaurant staff was also attentive and good.

Id like to return to the riverside but would have to see an improvement in the customer care as this hotel could be so much better.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. We are truly upset and disappointed with the review you have given, Customer Service is so important to us and to read your review is extremely distressing. I would like to assure you that all your comments have been taken very seriously and we have spoken to each department mentioned to get to the bottom of how your experience was so contrary to what we train our staff to provide. Mobile phones are certainly not permitted at work and the receptionist should also have not left her station, much the same as the bar staff who were on duty. Our Head Housekeeper has also been made aware of your comments regarding the spoons and has acted upon them. And we have also spoken to the Leisure Club team and asked them to be extra vigilant with the cleaning of the club.
Thank you for comments about the Restaurant and meals we have also passed them on to the kitchen and waiting on team.
We would hope that you do decide to stay with us again and give us a chance to show you how good our service can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Having just returned from a long weekend away for my girlfriends 21st birthday and this hotel made for a special weekend away. The deal we got by booking early was fantastic value for money! The riverside hotel is a very nice hotel and the perfect base to explore the lakes. The view from the room was very nice being above the river kendal watching it pass by the window and you can see kendal castle. Food and facillities were first class and free underground parking! Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice getaway weekend! i booked this then was worried by some of the bad reviews on here on arriving the were swiftly put to rest as the hotel is excellent, the rooms are nicely laid out and free wi-fi in the room is an excellent touch. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice break in the lakes. The service by the staff was fantastic, breakfast was very good and the evening meal was lovely and the waitress was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble! This should be a four star hotel as it punches above its 3 star rating!
L Jones North Wales

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2010
Everyone at The Riverside wanted to thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. I always say it means a lot to the staff to receive feedback and even more when it is such high praise as this. Like you said in your review we do have some negative feedback on trip advisor which unfortunately was prior to the massive refurbishment project we have undertaken, it just takes time and guests such as yourself who feel so impressed by their stay they are compelled to tell other travelers. Let’s hope we have many more reviews like yours, and we hope that we see you again at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We booked on a weekend "deal" which included bed, breakfast and evening meal, and it proved to be a good move. The meals were superb, but would have been much more expensive if paid for separately.
The atmosphere was lovely, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was large and looked out onto the River Kent, and had all the facilities you could need.
The swimming pool, sauna and steam were an added bonus. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, assistant to the director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely report, it always gives the staff a boost for all their hard work
Please keep checking our website for our special offers, we offer a range through out the year, or if you prefer please contact our reception and will we pop you our mailing list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Beezon Road | Stramongate Bridge, Kendal LA9 6EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 48 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.