We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Riverside Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beezon Road | Stramongate Bridge, Kendal LA9 6EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Kendal
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel was nice and staff are very helpful. Our room on the ground floor was a little tired but a good size ,but the view from our window of the river right outside made up for this (was told all rooms have a river view).We didnt use the pool but it looked great and a good size but they have a live television screen showing the pool in reception for ALL to see(we didnt see the need for this as you dont wont everyone passing looking at you).Our room didnt get serviced during our stay.The bar has a decking area overlooking the river.Hotel has secure parking just a few metres away.Breakfast is buffet style as much a you like was excellent.We would go back a great base to see the lake district.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was an enjoyable read. I'm glad you had a nice stay and that you would consider using us as a base for the Lakes. A brief word on the TV in reception; it is for security purposes; health and safety. Also, guests and people passing aren't standing in reception watching the TV. The camera is placed in such a position that it is far enough back not to be able to see in a detailed fashion. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    241
    112
    49
    24
See reviews for
90
318
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

me and my hubby have just came back from 2 nights at this hotel and we loved it we will defo be going again..... what a lovely hotel right on the river we enjoyed 2 nights of piece and quiet and we loved sitting out on the balcony in the sun......staff were lovely as well... see you soon xx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Great review thank you. I'm pleased we were able to provide you with an enjoyable break and that even the weather cooperated! See you again soon, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My girlfriend and i Stayed at the riverside 8th-9th july.We had origionally planned to stay in windermere but it was fully booked so decided on kendal.Im so glad we did as windermere was so busy during the day it was great to escape and only a 15 minute drive away.Upon arrival the hotel is situated overlooking the river which was a good start.The receptionist was very friendly with a welcome smile.We were given room 4 which was down a few steps,clean and tidy overlooking the river again.Room was spacious with a nice comfortable bed and a tv on the wall.The area has some great little pubs and restraunts(if you like indian food the mumbai is higly reccomended)5 minutes walk from the hotel.Breakfast time was very good.The staff although very busy were very friendly and welcoming.Lots of choice for breakfast so if you dont like the full english there are cereals or yogurts.We have decided to go back and will be booking this hotel again....Great weekend !!

Room Tip: We stayed below reception level which is practically in the river.Not complaining but will be asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are in a great location to be able to visit Windermere, by train, bus or car. Kendal has a bustle about it as well, as you mention, with its great restaurants and shops, etc. Thanks for mentioning our friendly staff too, something we are well-known for! I'm also pleased you enjoyed your meals with us and that you will return on your next visit. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had probably the worst experience of dining that we could have ever had! We had not been to the area before and it looked charming by the river. Being new to an area, the rule of thumb, when dining out it is advisable to utilise the larger places on the first night as these tend to have every part of what is an expensive part of your evening delivered correctly and in a professional manner.

We received from our waiter, what amounted to be the rudest, non professional service at all levels we have ever had! with dinner for two people costing over £60 I was expecting something aligning its self to this kind of cost. I was sadly mistaken, rude, non apologetic, not interested, unthoughtful, ignorant and damn right disgraceful! The food was mediocre, but the service from both the bar and the restaurant was a disgrace.

I will never use this restaurant again and will ensure that my-company, my business associates and friends will be informed to avoid this awful truly awful unfriendly place! I was informed that there are 3 in the chain of this hotel, I will certainly make sure we never use any of them in the future for business accommodation or other!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
This was a surprising review to read considering the reviewer spent over 2 hours in the restaurant and bar, ate their entire meal and continued to order things in the bar after their meal. Nothing was brought to the attention of management or staff, only well after the fact was mention made to the receptionist on duty; at which point she apologised.

It is quite clear based on other reviews and from daily interaction with guests that our staff are excellent. They are professional, friendly and experts at offering terrific service.

We will continue to offer the excellent service we are known for and if it happens that someone is dissatisfied and brings it to our attention, we will, of course, do everything we can to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night with 2 children and 2 dogs. The room was fantastic and didn't feel cramped at all. It had a lovely view over the river and we enjoyed a very tasty meal in the bar in the evening. It's the first time we've stayed in a hotel with the dogs, we normally do caravan holidays, but I would highly recommend the Riverside. Really friendly staff too. Looking forward to our next stay

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful 5-star review. i'm pleased your whole family enjoyed themselves (including the dogs of course!). I'm happy you will be making a return visit in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I expected a little bit better than we found, based on the previous reviews here. We had a room for 4 (2 adults, 2 children) and that meant one bed was a roll-away set up for us. When we got to our room it was already set up, which was great, but I actually felt sorry for my daughter sleeping on it. The mattress was more or less like a piece of packing foam -- very thin and flimsy -- on wide slits below, so you could easily push your elbow or foot right through the slats. The overall hotel felt run down to me. We had breakfast in the hotel in the morning and the staff was so overwhelmed that we had to wait and ask for silverware, napkins, tea, etc., which came in a hurried rush without a smile. I felt sorry for them, but at the same time, it's not really unreasonable to ask for those things at a self serve buffet. I just got the overall feel that this hotel has seen better days. Nothing terrible, but wouldn't go back there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
This review was disappointing to read. I do apologise that we didn't "wow" you. Obviously this is not the type of review we are used to getting, but it will help us rededicate ourselves to providing excellent service in a friendly and relaxing environment. We are always working to keep the hotel a great place to visit and that will never change. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Prospect, IL
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Hotel has a very good location. Close to M6 and walking distance from the train station and the City center and yet very quiet. . It is on the river (as its name implies) in an old mill/factory building. So don't look for some modern building. This setting gives the hotel its charm. The rooms are quite large and well appointed. As noted by others the staff is very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast is good. It is varied and plentiful but not cooked to order. It is served in a dining room that overlooks the river.
We did not have a strong wifi signal in our room as it was on the 3rd floor away from the reception where the router is. But the bar area which has tables and comfy chairs has both power and strong wifi signal.
All in all, we would recommend this hotel as your base to explore the western side of the Lake District

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks for staying and posting this nice review. The building is an old tannery, but inside has all the amenities you come to expect in a modern hotel, as you know. We hope the next time you are visiting the Lakes, you will think of booking with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Beezon Road | Stramongate Bridge, Kendal LA9 6EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kendal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 48 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.