We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Steak every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyth Valley Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lyth Valley Hotel
Lyth valley Road | Lyth, Kendal, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 111 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Steak every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The best steak I have ever had in my life. I would only ever order the steak because it's just so nice you don't even need a sauce with it. Just writing about it is making me hungry!

The staff are great and it's really relaxed - you don't feel rushed.

Great puddings too ,if you have the room for it as the portions are anything but stingey!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    5
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ideal lunch venue for rambling group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Lyth Valley was an ideal lunch venue for our rambling group. There were lots of appreciative comments from the group. Excellent welcome and hospitality.

Great food; ingredients and presentation were spot on; good value; reasonable prices.

Many thanks

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have eaten at the Lyth Valley many times and have never been disapointed! There is a varied menu to choose from so something for everyone and all delicious and good value for money. I particularly love the king prawns in chilli and garlic and this is by far one of the best starters I have ever had! The steak is also one of the best I have ever tasted- can't find one better anywhere in the area.

The staff were extremely friendly and offered exceptional service, George the owner is very talented and always comes and says hello. The lady in charge of front of house is always very attentive and welcoming. As people have mentioned it is slightly dated but I believe the service and the food over rides this as well as the amazing view.

If you want somewhere that is consistently good food and service then there is nowhere else to recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow in Furness
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service and Food Consistant Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We found the Lythe Valley Hotel some five years ago in 2007 and have returned for a meal many times. Well worth our 60 mile round trip to visit. It has a comfortable blend of attentive service from the pleasant staff and a consistant offering of good quality tasty food. The restauarant view overlooks the valley with its interesting undulating landscape which is a joy to behold.The Sunday lunch is excellent value with a menu that offers the traditional roast as well as other alternatives. Main courses are served in full on the plate, not in tureens or by waiter service. This does not worry us as the food pricing is such good value for money.this economy is acceptable. We will continue to return to the Lyth Valley, it is one of our favourite places to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“meal out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

decor not changed no locals in bar just for dining
our large party chairs rickety crammed in slow service decor mm need of update
food thrown out not every body likes orange tasting carrots just a portion
suprised how busy it was for sunday lunch

wouldnt recomend

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyth Valley Hotel also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Lyth Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyth Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.