We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crosthwaite House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crosthwaite House
Save
You added Crosthwaite House to your Saves list
Crosthwaite, near Kendal, Kendal LA8 8BP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A lucky internet search threw up this gem of a B & B. Wonderful views, fabulous atmosphere and great service. Breakfasts were amazing, great advice on walks and local knowledge. The free cake in the hallway to take on your walks was a nice touch, and the highlight of our weekend was an afternoon spent relaxing in the cosy lounge in front of the fire in the guests lounge. This place is great value for money, and regardless of the price, is a real find. I have stayed places double the price and not enjoyed it more! We will definitely be planning a return visit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Yippee what a treat to get some reviews so late in the season! Thank you! We haven't had so many of late, I think once people see a few on there they think there's no need to leave one, but it's always important to have up to date feedback so thank you so much for taking the time to leave us yours. We're glad you all had a good weekend, it was lovely to have you all here. I have to admit though, sometimes we do get "guest envy" and you did all look like you were doing just the kind of things we like to do when we're not working!! So glad you enjoyed your weekend in the Lakes and hope to see you again xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
39
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I don't normally leave reviews on Tripadvisor but I was compelled to leave one here.

Crosthwaite House is such a gem I almost want to keep it a secret. However, seeing as I found out about Crosthwaite House here on tripadvisor, I had to share my experience with fellow travellers.

My family and I stayed here on a stopover while enroute to Scotland from Reading. Sam and Tiree are the most welcoming hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. My mum wanted a shower cap and Sam went out of his way to get one for her. Sam also assisted with making our restaurant reservations.

From the individually decorated rooms, to the delicious breakfasts and thoughtful gestures like home made biscuits and torches at night time for guests, it is clear that they run their B&B with love and pride. You could not get such personalised service in a large "hospitality" chain.

When we arrived, it was dark but seeing the views out of the front door the next morning took my breath away. It is quite simply, the English countryside at its best - stunning views.

We have stayed in quite a few guesthouses on this trip and my family members could not stop commenting on how beautiful Crosthwaite House was.

Our only regret is that we were not able to stay for longer. We will definitely stay here if we are back this way in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It was a real pleasure to welcome you all here - I think you almost count as our first "coach" party! It was a shame you weren't able to stay longer, but we hope you'll return and we'll be sure to have the shower caps at the ready! Hope you enjoyed Scotland and the rest of your trip. Best wishes Sam and Tiree xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

By chance we came to this lovely house and stayed for 3 nights where we were warmly welcomed. Sam and Tiree have achieved just what you are looking for in a b & b, a happy well run house that provides a spacious bedroom (Bradleys King) with stunning views and a breakfast that is very special, yes that is one of the items each day, a wonderful variation of food that would satisfy any palate. The little touches of fresh flowers around the house and bedrooms, home made biscuits in the hall for guests and the helpfulness with any requests made our stay really special. Have already mentioned it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Bradleys King is a room at the front of the house with stunning views but as this is in a quiet rura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Hello, thank you so much for leaving us such a kind review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you've taken the time to tell others :) Hope to see you again, best wishes, Sam and Tiree xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at Crosthwaite House for 5 days, and it was faultless. The house is an elegant Georgian building in the quiet village of Crosthwaite in south-east Lake District, about 15 minutes' drive from Kendal and Windermere. I received a warm welcome, and was shown to the single ensuite room, which is a reasonably priced £35 per night. Like many other rooms it is front-facing and offers a delightful view across open country towards Cartmel Fell, and also of the local church. It is the attention to detail that makes any B&B shine out among others, and the owners Sam and Tiree have certainly given this a great deal of thought. Home-made biscuits in each room, lemon drizzle cake and other delights put out in the hall for guests to try, and also damson gin in the guest living room, where free WIFI is also available. An information folder in each room provides honest reviews of local eateries and also good local walks, and with the latter we were provided a more detailed walking guide to Lords' Seat, which turned out to be a fantastic walk. Breakfast was excellent, with lovely home-made greek yoghurt/stewed fruit/granola creations each day, fresh squeezed orange juice, and a choice of full english or the "days' special" ... the latter proving to be a delicious alternative, such as Eggs Benedict, or the fantastically adventurous "Dr Seuss Special", green eggs and ham. Nothing was too much for Sam and Tiree, providing advice on diverse subjects such as walking, mountain biking, the local property market, how to get to places. The overall experience was an exceptional, faultless B&B with an easy-going, chilled out atmosphere. The Punchbowl Inn, 100 metres along the lane also provides a fine dining experience.

Room Tip: Their website allows easy online booking. If you ring to book, ask if front-facing rooms are availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed and lovely review for us - ahh the energy levels rise again - it's so nice to get good feedback :) We're really glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you were the first guest to sample our Green Eggs and Ham - well done you! (Did you spot it was served by Sam I Am?!) Also happy you enjoyed the long walk on Whitbarrow - we love it up there and always encourage guests to give it a try as it's such an unspoilt area and so much quieter than the main Lakeland fells.

All the best with your exciting plans for the next few months, thanks again

best wishes

Sam and Tiree x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed here with my family for our parents wedding anniversary. Tiree and Sam were fantastic helping to suggest places to eat and walks to try. The house was beautiful and all the little touches such as the fresh wild flowers, home made biscuits and local damson gin really made the stay extra special.

I had the single room. The bed was comfy, the en suite clean, the shower powerful, and the view superb.

As for the breakfast it was amazing. Choice of full English or the daily special. I had eggs Benedict the first morning and the full on the second day. And the granola fruit and yoghurt pots were lovely.

All in all you couldn't find a nicer more welcoming place to stay in the lakes.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hello
Thanks so much for your review - really glad you enjoyed your family weekend of celebrations here - it was lovely having you all to stay and a really nice idea to surprise your parents. We hope to see you again!

Best wishes

Sam and Tiree xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed for three nights earlier this month, organised by our three daughters as a present for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. The girls' selection of B and B and its location couldn't have been more perfect!

We loved our room with a window seat and views over beautiful South Lakes countryside. The fresh flowers and home-made biscuits added to the welcome we'd already received on arrival. Like other contributors we thought Tiree's breakfasts were absolutely delicious - great ingredients beautifully cooked, as well as offering an amazing choice with "specials" changing each day. Fresh flowers on the tables as well. Suggestions for walks (with accompanying maps and notes) were excellent, and views from the top of Whitebarrow over the South Lakes peaks on a fine, sunny day were magnificent. We enjoyed the relative quietness of this area, as opposed to the heart of the Lake District, both on our walks and just driving around. A lovely part of the world. And always a very warm welcome on our return.

There are plenty of pubs nearby serving good food (Hare and Hounds, Masons Arms). On our second night our daughters had organised a meal at the Punchbowl a few minutes walk away - and surprised us by appearing there with their partners! It was a lovely special meal, and they then joined us at Crosthwaite House, so it was a fantastic family weekend. Sam and Tiree had kept their secret throughout our first day's holiday! This B and B was great to return to in the evenings after a meal, with the twinkling lights in the lounge and damson gin set out to round off the day as we chatted.

The girls' rooms were all great as well and they also enjoyed their stay immensely. A perfect place on a special weekend. Would recommend Crosthwaite House to anyone.

Room Tip: Our front facing rooms all had delightful views over the countryside. Being in an old house they al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Hello guys, thank you so much for reviewing us - especially as it's your first review :)

We loved having you all here to stay - especially once the secret was out and we didn't have to be careful not to let the cat out the bag any more! It was great fun and a very thoughtful present from your kids.

Glad you enjoyed the local area again, and your walk up Whitbarrow, we love it up there.

Best wishes and hope to see you and the family again at some point - Golden wedding maybe?!

Best wishes

Sam and Tiree xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our trip to the Crosthwaite House was planned on a whirlwind two week trip to the U.K. in May. My husband and I traveled as far north as St. Andrew's, Scotland, and down to Bath and over to London.
We chose the Crosthwaite House because it was halfway from Edinburgh, Scotland and Tewkesbury, England. We wanted a place in Kendal so I started looking at Trip Advisor (like I always do). I chose this charming place because Tiree and Sam commented on each and every post a person wrote on their B&B. I figure, if they spent the time to care about what people were saying about their place and wrote such a thoughtful note back, they must have a lovely place they care about and treat their guests as if they were family. I was not disappointed. The moment we got there, we were greeted with friendly faces (Sam and his daughter) and their golden retriever. I, at first, had a difficult time connecting to the internet but Sam was very helpful with this, even let me have the router in the room so I had the best chance at reception!
The breakfast was delightful. We even met another couple who brought their golden retriever on their trip. We have two that we were missing back in the States, so between Sam's and this other couple's golden, I was able to get my fix for the week :)
Just a stone's throw from the B&B was a wonderful place to eat for dinner, the Punch Bowl. We were able to walk there, which was a plus since we were sick of driving.
The only frustrating thing about our visit was getting there, and to no fault of our own! We followed our GPS which took us down a one lane road, that was supposed to be two, where weeds were hitting our car on both sides and there were walls on the other side of the weeds! If someone would have been coming the other direction, I don't know what we would have done...there was no turning around, pulling off to the side or backing up! We should have followed Sam and Tiree's directions they so kindly sent us in the mail! Next time :)
If you get a chance to relax after dinner, and you will, try some of the Damson gin they leave out for you to partake of. I liked it so much, I bought some :)

Room Tip: If you are looking for a place to hop on and off the highway....this is not it. If, however you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hi both! Many, many thanks for leaving us such a lovely, detailed review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay - we're lucky to have some great reviews here on TripAdvisor but it does mean people's expectations are high - so it's good to know we still measure up!

We're really sorry that you had a bit of trouble finding us - and like you said, through no fault of your own! It's a real shame, as, were it not for the errors of Mrs.Sat Nav, you should have had a straightforward 15 minute trip from the motorway on nice (relatively!) big roads. We have many guests who often stay with us to break a a long journey north or south due to the fact that we are easy to access from the M6.

Since you stayed we've also had another couple of guests who've been sent down the same little track, so we're now addressing this by reporting the problem to the major sat nav providers and we're going to put a note on the directions section of our website to warn people too - thanks for bringing it to our attention!

We hope you had a great time on the rest of your UK trip, and enjoy that Damson Gin!

Best wishes,

Sam and Tiree xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crosthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosthwaite House

Address: Crosthwaite, near Kendal, Kendal LA8 8BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Lyth Valley on the southern edge of the Lake District National Park, we offer 6 guest bedrooms and a spacious lounge and dining room for your use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crosthwaite House Kendal, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crosthwaite House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.